We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Celtic Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
US$133
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$118
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
527
395
130
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
395
130
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiescoach partiessauna and steam roomlovely hotelcoach tripswimming poolnice pooldouble and single bedbuffet stylegood sizereception areaevening mealpublic roomsnorth walesthird floorweekend breaktown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights and found the hotel to be very comfortable and very clean. All staff were efficient and friendly. Our room was located at the back but not a problem as we were there for a short break. Found the bathroom a little small but that was a a minor point. The hotel had a very calm atmosphere which was good. Breakfast was excellent and service in the bar and restaurant was good too. If we are back in the area we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GriffithsJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your your positive feedback, we were pleased to read your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the friendliness of staff

We hope that you will visit us again soon

Kind Regards
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bit disappointing. Staff not overly friendly - on arrival front of house manager said teenage sons couldn’t use gym even when accompanied by adult - this not made clear in any advertising. Main reason we booked the hotel was for the gym.
Bedrooms no more than functional. Breakfast not bad (a v nice lady who ensures hot breakfast buffet is fully stocked by communicating by walkie talkie with kitchen - she had a genuine smile) parking tricky - hardly any spaces and narrow layout means very difficult to manoeuvre in and out of spaces. Three Star at best.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We payed £10.50 a head (no reductions for children) there where over 20 of us. Two trays of sandwiches two bowls of crisps, Sausage rolls, scones and barabrith. There weren’t even one each of the Sausage rolls, scones and barabrith. No alternative to tea or coffee for the children, when complaining the staff lost what little English they had we were told on a number of times someone coming (no one did) eventually a some more scones came so we had one each but no extra sausage rolls or slices of barabrith. What was offered was very disappointing as was the service.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jennifer,

Many thanks for your feedback on your event here at The Celtic Royal. We are disappointed to read your comments as we regularly receive positive feedback and compliments regarding our afternoon teas. Having checked your afternoon tea with the Manager, Bar staff on duty, Chefs and our in-house security cameras the following findings have been concluded:

- Your organiser chose our £10.50 menu and was advised when booking what would be included and the choice of food. The price includes a selection of Sandwiches, Bara Brith, Sausage rolls, Crisps, Scones with jam and cream and Tea/Coffee. The cost also includes the use of a privates function room, full vintage set up and chair covers.
- There is no concession for the children as the same amount and variety of food is prepared for them also.
- Your group were checked upon on a regular basis by our bar staff (who speak Welsh and/or English fluently) and the manager on duty.
- Your group requested extra scones and these were provided at no additional cost.
- Once your group departed the hotel and our staff went to clear the room we noticed that there was food left over on the service dishes
- A number of your party have commented verbally and on Social Media about the great afternoon they had at the baby shower.

We hope this clears up your disgruntlement and will not deter you from visiting The Celtic Royal Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am a member of the gym in the Celtic Royal. A group of us who go to the gym in mornings decided to have a bar meal one evening. To be honest I wasn't expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised. There was 9 of us and we all ordered separately at the bar. We were all pleased that our food was bought to the table at the same time. The staff were very good and the food better than expected. Will be visiting again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank DwynwenJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dwynwen,

Thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that your group enjoyed dining with us. We look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A long weekend visit, with a party of 215!
Excellent facilities and professional, caring staff.
The food was excellent, though simultaneously supplying toast and bacon for 215 hungry people was always going to be a challenge. It was met by patience in a relaxed atmosphere – and a bit of catch-up chatting!
The service in the bar and the swimming pool facility were equally of the highest standards.
The hotel is a good base for the town centre and castle a five minute stroll away as well as other not-too-faraway attractions.
We really felt relaxed and cared for.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear George,

Thank you for your 5 star review

We were delighted to read your praise of the Celtic Royal Hotel staff, and we hope you will return next year!

Kind Regards
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews