We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful view, very welcoming owners!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Stunning Scenery!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Scenery!!
Walk amongst the vines and enjoy glorious views of the Usk Valley Cosy living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Stunning Scenery!!
Walk amongst the vines and enjoy glorious views of the Usk Valley
Cosy living area
Relax in comfort
Dining for 2 !
Comfy double bed
Double bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Vineyard tour
The Vineyards
Seyval Blanc
The brook
The Vineyard early spring
Wine Tasting
The Nantiago Brook an attraction in itself
Harvest - September & October
We have two adjoining cottages, the same layout.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MelandDeb
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, very welcoming owners!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We visited Brook Cottage for a mid week break in June 2016. The cottage was well equipped, the views were beautiful and the owners were very welcoming. After a 2 and half hour walk with our dogs we sampled the wine produced from the vine yard shared a cheese platter of local welsh cheese and sat in the sunshine next to the babbling brook, bliss. Lots of local walks from the doorstep and a really nice pub just across a field which served food all day from 12 noon with reasonable prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and wine!
Liked least: Darkness of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeevans1
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived in the dark and had a lovely surprise when we opened the cottage door,there was a bottle of wine of our choice from the vineyard,two glasses,a box of local hand made chocolates and a pretty little Christmas tree.Cottage was warm and cosy,kitchen was well equipped bed was comfy.Great walks around the area and you can also walk into Abergavenny town,which we did and it was definitely worth going,its a bustling little town with a little market selling local produce.We didn't get to meet the owners as they were in a wedding(hope you enjoyed) but were well looked after by their mother and her partner who were lovely and really welcoming,even took as into town in the evening.The vineyard was fantastic and so was the coffee shop and wine tasting tour.Only negative was the weather,but we had waterproofs on and didn't let it spoil our great weekend,would like to go back in the summer when the vines are green and lush.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location and cosy cottage a short drive in to Abergavanny town. We enjoyed a short walk around the vineyard and sitting under the warm heaters with blankets wine tasting (which was very reasonably priced). Food was also amazing - great toasties!

The cottage was very cosy however felt the bathroom was very useable but could perhaps do with a upgrade - shower was fine but not powerful at all. The bed was amazing - we slept in everyday which we never usually do.

Recommended for our family and friends to get down for a visit when they can.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quicker to get to than central France”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was such a surprise. A vineyard on the edge of the Brecon Beacons really did seem unlikely, but the weather was really continental, and our walks in the evening were accompanied by cricket song. The cottage was comfortable and fairly well equipped. It is tucked behind a café and shop where you can sample home-made cakes and the vineyard's really quite delicious wine. Abergavenny town centre is close by, and its a short drive to Crickhowell and the Black Mountains.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect quiet, rural, relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfectly placed to explore Brecon Beacons and Abergavenny. Very comfortable cottage with everything you need plus a babbling brook!

p.s.Tiny things but I would recommend adding a bin in the bathroom and instructions for how to leave the cottage after a stay, also we couldn't get the cold tap in the kitchen to work, but the hot ran cold at first so that was fine

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing