We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out break”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Would highly recommend this hotel, rooms well sized, tea and coffee in room , rooms very clean, dining first class, breakfast was fabulous, area around hotel is great for walks around canal when weather a bit warmer, staff are very polite and friendly, just loved the style and decor of the hotel, well done to you all will be visiting again very soon.

Stayed: February 2016
2  Thank Laybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Bryn Howel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay....on arrival we were given a room key. The room was in the roof of the hotel room was cold the bed in a little bit of a mess looked like it had been slept in and the toilet had been used. Went to reception were the staff gave us there apologies and we were taken to another room. very nice very warm and a lovely view...The Hotel is old and needs some love and attention but we had a great relaxing time. Breakfast was great and we ate both nights in the Bar top marks to the chef could not fault. We would stay again just don't expect 5* accommodation but we'll worth the money.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We spent a weekend at Bryn Howel. The setting is beautiful - right next to the canal which offers good walks - and only just over a mile to the amazing aqueduct.

If you read the reviews you will see they are mixed. It would seem that some rooms have not been upgraded. We booked a "deal" and got one of the older rooms. The room itself was a little "lived in", but basically OK.

The big problem - and it was a big problem - was that the bed was creaky and too hard for our taste and comfort. Also the heating could not be controlled so we had to put towels on the radiator to survive the extreme heat output. This led to poor sleep - not good for a weekend away. The WiFi in the area in which we stayed was very poor, but usable (mostly!).

Having said that, the staff are friendly and the food good, although we did not take dinner as we needed some time to digest the meal before heading for the heat and discomfort of the room.

Overall, a lovely place and worth a visit, but be careful if you are on a deal - or, indeed, not on a deal - in case you get one of the poorer rooms. The place has great potential if the management overcame the basic problems.

Room Tip: Beware - check you get a decent room!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John_C_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Stayed in room on 2nd floor, the view was fantastic and room lovely and warm with plenty of hot water, As you came from the 1st floor to the staircase for the 2nd it was a lot colder. The lady on reception were lovely and very friendly and another lady seemed to be working the bar and restaurant alone but very efficiently. We had a meal in the bar which was fantastic quality and very enjoyable :) :). Breakfast was fine and checkout was very easy.

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This review deals only with the restaurant - I cannot comment on the experience as a hotel guest.

With a potentially magnificent location and a wonderful heritage, my family chose Bryn Howell as a halfway house between various branches of the in-laws for a significant birthday milestone. Happy memories of previous meals from the senior members were another factor in the decision, so a group of us made the long and weather-beaten journey to Trevor to celebrate.

Upon arrival for our Sunday roast, I was immediately struck by the magnificent location, and the disappontingly empty car-park. The house itself is a magnificent Victorian faux-Tudor mansion, and was clearly built by someone who had a love of the Gothic. However, with generations of later additions including unsympathetic 1970's extensions and a few maintenance issues (buckets and cloths catching leaks in the door leading t the bar, for example) detract from the potential magnificence. A roaring fire in the splendid fireplace struggled to combat the icy breeze flowing down the leaded windows as a wan rainbow of colour-changing ropelights attempted to bring jovial modernity to the oak-panelled bar - and failed.

We waited in the bar for the rest of the group to arrive. It wasn't well stocked by any means: No ales, draft or bottled, and no real cider save for the bland fizzy keg variety: Certainly nothing locally sourced despite being a stone's throw down the A5 from Llangollen Brewery.

This was the first of a series of minor disappointments that made a splendid experience into a very average one. Whilst the staff were helpful, and the table beautifully set, there was no offer to take coats or hats.

We ordered our food, and some wine, and got down to some serious chatting whilst we waited. The wine list might very well have been the same as the local supermarket, and there was nothing that really grabbed our attention.

When the food arrived, mercifully hot and in good time, we began our repast: I chose lamb and the lamb was pretty good (and if you can't get lamb right in Wales, there's a big problem), although it seemed to be of the machine sliced pre-packaged variety - the mint gravy was excellent. The beef I tried was tasty and tender, though not rare enough for my liking. However, the veg was bland and overcooked, a bit like my nan used to make in the 1970s.

To be fair, there was nothing really wrong or bad about the dining experience, it was just... ordinary: A carvery-style pub lunch in a once-magnificent location. After travelling for nearly two hours through grim rainstorms, spurred on by stories of luxury and opulence, it was all a little bit of an anticlimax. Bryn Howell is undoubtedly a lovely place in the summer and a dramatic one in winter, but the term 'faded splendour' is very apt. I get the impression they're trying very hard to be something they once were, possibly a decade ago when their reputation warranted a helipad on the lawn (now replaced by picnic tables, some of which were broken and piled in a corner).

In summary, like my old school reports: "Could do better". If the hotel management put some dramatic investment in to match the dramatic location, this could be an excellent venue to justify a special journey. However, the prices were reasonable, so maybe they're just not aiming at the luxury end of the market like they used to...

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doctor_When
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
4.5 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
3.5 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
3.4 km away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
275 reviews
5.3 km away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
812 reviews
5.6 km away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: RM266 - RM714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing