We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
615
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits journey home welsh cakes cooked breakfast fresh fruit salad b and b the ground floor a great stay warm welcome made us feel short walk four poster power shower perfect hosts comfy bed lovely owners friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We were greeted by a friendly face and taken to our room which was really cosy after coming in from the cold. The bed was really comfy and I would love a set of your pillows! Breakfast was amazing and the leaving gift of hot Welsh cakes when we left was superb and we really enjoyed them!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank TeenieBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bod-Gwynedd-717, Owner at Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi guys, thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again (hopefully this year?). Don't forget to follow us on Facebook for the latest on what is happening in the area and what we get up to.
G&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We stayed at Bod Gwynedd for 2 nights in November 2017 (11th and 12th). The B&B is well situated at the Capel Curig end of Betws Y Coed; close enough to walk in to the pubs, restaurants and shops, yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.
We had a lovely welcome from our hosts, Jackie and Gary. The room (we were in room 5) was spotlessly clean and comfortable with all the extras one would expect, e.g. kettle, tea/coffee etc. The smart TV enables the guest to access their personal Netflix account, internet or to play DVDs. The guest information booklet was very informative.
For breakfast there is fruit juice, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurts, toast, full cooked breakfast or lighter cooked options. Cooked breakfast is requested the evening before as it is prepared on an Aga. Plenty to set you up for a day of walking.
Being a walking area guests are well catered for with maps and walking books to borrow. Both Jackie and Gary are also happy to share their wealth of knowledge on the area. If outer clothing gets wet on a walk there is an area to dry them.
It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of the village and around 40-45 minutes walk along the road to the Swallow Falls.
We did a good circular walk from Bod Gwynedd, walking to the village and crossing the bridge opposite the Pont Y Pair pub to access the riverside walk, passing the miners' bridge and then reaching the falls before continuing to Tŷ Hyll. otherwise known as The Ugly House where we enjoyed a pot of tea and some bara brith. We walked back down the road side and then visited the Swallow Falls through the turnstile. Take the right money with you (£1.50) to pay via the self pay-machine in case there isn't anyone on duty. It is well worth it, even if you've seen the falls from the opposite side of the river. Bod Gwynedd is lovely and cosy to return to for a hot shower after the walk, around 6.5 miles.
For us we were very pleased that this B&B does not accommodate children or pets, so we were assured of a peaceful stay. We are definitely planning a return trip.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lin4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bod-Gwynedd-717, Owner at Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi Lin. What a beautiful review of the area as well as Bod Gwynedd! I'm almost tempted to get out and do the walk even though we have done it dozens of times already :) We are glad you appreciated our setting Bod Gwynedd up as an Adult Retreat from the outside world. Hope to see you again. Diolch G&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at Bod Gwynedd. We received a lovely friendly welcome from our hosts pon our arrival, our room was warm and comfortable, lovely beds with double sized duvets, even though they were single beds! The room was well equipped with kettle, tea coffee etc and we had use of the guests fridge in the hall. The en suite bathroom was very clean and well equipped. Lovely shower!
Breakfast offered a good selection of cereals, porridge, a lovely fresh fruit salad and fabulous local yoghurts. The cooked breakfasts offer a good variety including vegetarian sausages, gluten free etc. Very nicely cooked and presented.
I would definitely recommend Bod Gwynedd and hope to stay there again in the Spring.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank gaynor168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bod-Gwynedd-717, Owner at Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi Gaynor, thank you for your beautiful review. The double duvets on single beds is a new addition as Jackie thought guests would appreciated the extra "snuggly feel" as she puts it. Hope you can make it in spring. As I write this spring is just starting to emerge in Snowdonia and will soon be in full bloom. Diolch Gary & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We booked this B and B purely from previous reviews as we didn’t know the area. We were not disappointed. Lovely place with well equipped, clean, comfy rooms. The breakfast was plentiful and lots of variety to suit everyone’s needs. Jackie and Gary were very welcoming and provided information of the local area including places to eat (we ate at the hanging pizza by the railway station which was lovely and would highly recommend), things to do and weather information for climbing Snowdon amongst other local knowledge. We really felt at home and would certainly recommend anyone staying here. It’s an ideal location for walking up Snowdon. We walked up the Pyg and back down the Miner’s tracks and caught the S2 bus to Pen Y Pass (the bus stop is literally outside the front door). And the icing on the cake of our stay was being given the homemade welsh cakes on departure! A very thoughtful touch. If we ever return to the area we will be sure to stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FloraD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bod-Gwynedd-717, Owner at Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for your wonderful warm review Flora. We hope to see you again one day. Diolch Gary & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Spotless, warm, comfy, room for dirty boots and unobtrusive but diligent care. Wholesome and delicious breakfasts with brown sauce- if required. Lots of info about the area and the weather ! Just on the cusp of the beautiful village with hills behind and the sound of running water in front. A B and B for grown ups. Great!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bod-Gwynedd-717, Owner at Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi Judi, thank you for your 5* review. We look forward to welcoming you back one day to our Adults only Retreat.
Diolch, Gary & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews