We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Addendum to original review”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mair-y-Coed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tattiehea...
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Addendum to original review”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Having had a wonderful stay in May, my family and I decided to rebook for Christmas. Due to serious illness in the family, requiring extended treatment, we are now unable to go. Have spoken to Steve who has been so kind and generously is returning a substantial amount of my deposit with the proviso we, hopefully, return next year where the retained sum will offset our holiday. Big thank you Steve, most appreciated in this difficult time. WE WILL BE BACK!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent village position ,with beautiful views”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

,Our extended family spent a very enjoyable week here ,we were a party of 11, but we never felt that it was crowded, and the children were content. The close proximity of shops and restaurants etc. was brilliant , the older children enjoyed the freedom of going off on their own. There were a few issues that Steve was made aware of in the property and I am sure he has acted upon them. One of our party inadvertently left some clothes behind & one call to Steve & they were returned -many thanks!!. Hopefully we will return again sometime as a good time was had by all !.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every bedroom had en-suite , position of property in village
Liked least: Not to our standard of cleanliness,state of shower room with sauna was poor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tattiehea...
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mair y Coed!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My extended family and I have just returned from our stay in Mair y Coed. It was a fabulous spacious house but still managed to retain a lovely cosy, welcoming atmosphere, the wood burner adding to the conviviality. Great to have so many bedrooms with en suites for us all and kitchen and dining facilities, faultless. Location perfect for the convenience of restaurants, public houses etc. and, for the more adventurous, the mountains are a short drive away.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann E
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house with all you need for a perfect stay.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Mair y Coed is a lovely house, well equipped and ideal for a large group. The location is good as it is in the village. We had an excellent week with everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickthemu...
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely property, superb location, ideal for families”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I booked this property at short notice for a five day break for my wife and I and two teenage boys. Betwys y Coed is a great village to base yourself in for a holiday. It has plenty of eating locations and is at the hub of many routes.
The property is large, comfortable and cozy. Well equipped and homely. Good instructions from the owner and a nice courtesy call on our first evening to check all was ok.
Our boys loved the place with the only complaint from them being being that the wi-fi was a bit weak in the furthest bedroom from the router and affected whatever it is they do on their smartphones!
During our week we did the longest zip wire in Europe over a nearby quarry, white water rafting, quad biking, walked down Snowdon and Segways.
We will definitely consider staying here again. There is nothing quite like looking out over the hills from the lounge area with the morning coffee or the evening glass of something stronger.
Well recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and comfort and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing