We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
WTB 5 star Baddegai is a great place for a get together of friends/family - children & dogs welc
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
WTB 5 star Baddegai is a great place for a get together of friends/family - children & dogs welc
House, back garden and hot tub area Baddegai sits in a rural but accessible location in the foothills of the Beacons,4 miles from Brecon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
WTB 5 star Baddegai is a great place for a get together of friends/family - children & dogs welc
House, back garden and hot tub area
Baddegai sits in a rural but accessible location in the foothills of the Beacons,4 miles from Brecon
Hot tub area and shed with table tennis
Secure south-facing garden & sun trap patio - great for relaxing, having a bbq & playing cro
Alongside the garden is a fenced off stream - safe for young kids & great for older ones to play
View from the hot tub up to Pen-y-fan
All 4 en suite bedrooms can be doubles or twins - 3 are superking size. Bed linen & towels provi
1 of the en suite bedrooms is on the ground floor - all have sofas, ample storage & dressing tab
There are wood burning stoves in the sitting room & the dining room - all logs are supplied free
The sitting room seats 8 comfortably, the dining room has a table for 12 & the kitchen one for 4
Well equipped kitchen wtih 5 ring induction stove, double oven, fridge, eye level grill & microw
Utility room with dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge freezer & 4 ring induction o
The 2 paddocks running either side of the track to the house are great places for exercising dogs.
There are great views from every window & no light pollution so even at night the views are fabu
Dining room with a table that seats 12 people and wood burning stove - logs provided free of charge.
Another of the en suite bedrooms.  This one is in the cottage side of the house up its own staircase
As well as walking in the Beacons there are flatter walks along the canal - or you could hire a boat
The kitchen has a table that can seat 4.
Secure garden with croquet, badminton and table tennis
Patio with table that seats 8
Kitchen with views up to Pen-y-Fan
Sitting room with log burner and telescope
Large windows in the sitting room let in lots of light
Ground floor bedroom that can be a twin or double
All bedrooms have sofas and plenty of storage
Lots of oak beams and stone walls
King size bedroom that can be a twin
First floor superking size double or twin bedded room
All bedrooms have en suites.
First floor bedroom with views to the Brecon Beacons
Walkway between two of the first floor bedrooms
The dining room table can be extended to seat up to 12 people
Superking size bedroom up a separate staircase
Two of the bedrooms have en suite baths with showers over, two have en suite showers
Superking size bedroom in the cottage side of the house
Large back garden with patio and shed for bike storage
Patio with views to the Brecon Beacons
First floor bedroom which can be a superking size double or twin en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfortable”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A special family birthday was made extra comfortable by a very comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baddegai cottage/barn is Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed during February half term - 2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 children and a dog! The house was so warm and the log burners very easy to use - gave out great heat and made the afternoons and evenings so cosy. Very spacious with 4 ensuite bedrooms. Lovely kitchen with everything we needed and a useful utility room where the dog slept at night. We couldn't fault it. The quality of the rebuild/refurbishment was very high. Great garden for the children and the dog! Lovely walks for all abilities. Just 4 miles from Brecon and all the shops you need if you forget anything! Just one thing to bear in mind is that if you have Vodaphone mobile there is no network for it so it would be useful to give the landline number to those who might need to ring you. We chose a secluded spot for our break, so we shouldn't expect to have full mobile service in the mountains but being able to give out the landline number for urgent calls from work was helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really - the house, the views, the peace and quiet, the woodburners.......
Liked least: No signal for Vodaphone
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke M
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a quite one......”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This place is wicked. Understated and remote enough to make you go wow yet luxurious enough to make you feel special. A couple of things I liked;

Beautiful oak beams and doors
Light kitchen opening out to patio
Comfy beds with luxurious linen
The 2nd fridge - i presume for extra booze
Tucked away location
The hassle free service from Annabel

Of all the holiday cottages i have stayed in this one just made things easy. All the little things that seemed to matter have been thought about. My partner and our friends had a fantastic weekend and i could not have asked for any more other than 'when can we come back?'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Building
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisPBB
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can only describe Baddegai as the definitive luxury holiday cottage! If you are looking for peace, tranquility, luxury and comfort, this is the place to go. Handy for Brecon, Hay on Wye, fabulous walks on the Brecon Beacons. The house has 4 lovely en suite bedrooms, a very well equipped kitchen, loads of space and is completely private. We've booked 2 more breaks this year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalblue...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding cottage, for those wanting to be cut off from the world”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is absolutely sublime, in idyllic surroundings, and ideally located for Hay, Brecon, and the Beacons. It has been an excellent base of operations during the week of the Hay Festival. Unfortunately I cannot recommend the cottage for anyone who wants to remain connected with the outside world during their stay. Internet connectivity and mobile phone reception are terrible - even within the house, the wireless signal only reaches to certain rooms. After two days of attempted use our party was contacted by the owners to tell us that we were in danger of exceeding their monthly internet limit, which seems absurd. Other small problems include poor shower drainage and the fact that some exterior doors do not lock, putting valuables in potential danger. Having said all of this, however, I would return to Baddegai in a heartbeat if these problems were seen to. It is a marvellous place to unwind.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Baddegai, had a great week at the Hay Festival and that you would recommend the cottage to a friends.

I am sorry that you found the internet and phone issues such a problem.
As we are too far away from a BT exchange, we have to get our internet from a satellite dish for which I pay a monthly subscription. The cottage is regularly full all month and we rarely have issues with going over the limit of our broadband capacity. As I explain in the email that I send guests before they arrive and in the guest information booklet in the house, if you stick to checking and responding to emails and looking online for details of visitor attractions then there will be no problem. If however you try to live stream or download large amounts of data then this will quickly eat in to the broadband supply. The few times we have had a problem before it always seems to be when there are teenagers staying who seem to find it impossible to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and would rather be on their computers playing games which seems a terrible shame.
There is nothing we can do about the mobile signal - I have looked in to getting a booster but they are not compatible with broadband from a satellite. I have a vodafone mobile and can get a signal in the drive but other guests have told me that Orange works in the house. We do have a landline for incoming calls and emergency phone calls.

I phoned you twice during your stay, once on the Saturday morning after your arrival on the Friday afternoon and once on the Tuesday morning when I had received the email from the broadband company to tell me that you had used 44% of the monthly quota since the Friday.
On both occasions I asked you if everything was ok at the house - I wish you had mentioned the problem with the shower or the back door and I would have got someone out immediately to sort it all out. In the short amount of time (5 hours) between changeovers occasionally things do get missed and so we do have to rely on feedback from guests regarding issues which we shall then rectify at the earliest possible time.

I have contacted the broadband company and I can buy a temporary increase to the high speed data allowance via a Volume Booster top up for £10 per 1 GB of data. I am now going to offer this to guests in case they need to work whilst they are away and therefore need a larger broadband allowance.

I hope that you would therefore consider returning to Baddegai at a future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$349
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing