We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation, Stunning views and perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Acre Brecon

The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single. Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single.
Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Ground floor sitting area with 42' led TV and Wii console, breath taking views.
Ground floor lounge with seating for 8 in comfort.
First floor lounge, with balcony panoramic view's of the Usk valley and beyond.
Utility room comprising off boot rack, washer dryer, dishwasher, door leading to shower room
Utility room with ample floor and wall storage, tiled floor throughout the ground floor.
View from the decking, which has a double burner BBQ and seating for 8, sit and relax.
The decking looking North,a parasol to shade you from the summer sunshine.
The Acre Bwlch, from the top of its grounds looking East at the Black mountains. 2 acres of garden.
Happy guests on the balcony, relaxing with a drink and enjoying the fabulous views.
Kitchen set up for breakfast for 6 more seating available. American fridge freezer with dispenser.
A view from the Black mountains in the same valley as the Acre Bwlch. A walkers paradise.
Walk in shower on ground floor with toilet and wash basin. All towels and bath robes provided.
The lake, under 3 miles away, walk or cycle a bird watchers haven, perfect for sailing & fishing.
Brecon Beacons in Brecon 7 miles away, Hay on Wye a short drive, Green Man festival 2 miles .
Drive and flower bed, the lane leading to the Acre is single track and a dead end road so very quiet
Ground Floor layout
Taken on the 23rd November 2014 fog in the usk valley
The Acre in winter bottom left of the picture.
First floor lounge with balcony doors open in the summer.
Sink and American fridge freezer with plumbed ice and water.
Fresh vegetable boxes with green house for organic supplies.
Patio area with BBQ and plenty of seating,
King size bed with ensuite.
First floor living room with balcony doors closed.
Boot and coat rack for storage after your days adventure.
Travel cot,for the younger visitors.
Patio area with BBQ and water feature. Fabulous view in every direction.
3D 5.1 Blu Ray home cinema system.
Table set for dinner.
Fresh bread made at The Arce.
Snow at The Acre, approaching 1000ft.
Bright warm sunshine on the patio at The Acre Bwlch.
Loads of private parking along with well kept colourful grounds.At The Acre Bwlch.
Our own hens, a great attraction with the younger guests free eggs!
If your visit is in the summer months feed the huge Sun flowers.
Fisherman on Llangorse Lake.
View to the Black mountains with snow from The Acre Bwlch.
The start of our ride back to the Acre Bwlch
Clean sealed floor tiles, american style fridge freezer
utility room from the stairs
Utility room from the kitchen
Floor plan of The Acre Bwlch Brecon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ron B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, Stunning views and perfect hosts”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house went beyond our expectations. It had all the amenities you wanted, very clean, large rooms and a very large garden with two BBQ's. The views from the house were stunning. Sitting out in front of the house having breakfast or a BBQ was perfection. The local area is full of great walks and the views again from the peaks are wonderful. We had the perfect hosts in Conway and Steph. They were always on hand to give you advice on where to go or what to do. You have a local pub serving food and drink 500 yards away. I can assure you if you book this accommodation you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the house
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miljones1
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful views in a spectacular setting - with chickens!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was very large and easily coped with our group of 7 - including 3 children. The views from most rooms were spectacular and the amenities (big tellys, huge fridge, and a Wii) made it easy to keep everyone amused even if the weather wasn't great. Lots of good walks from this area and many fine pubs within reach. The kids loved getting the chicken's eggs each day - and the owner was very welcoming! A lovely stay had by all...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona-fam...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lots of personal touches made our stay extremely comfortable and enjoyable. Our welcome baskets were fabulous and we were not expecting Welsh cakes and hot cross buns. The house is trendy and spacious but with cosy seating areas in front of the fantastic views of the hills and valleys. Location wise really greatand we did alot of walking. A couple of trips to waterfall country were easy to get to but the local waterfall walk recommended by our Conway was a highlight.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crofty201...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super house, great location and fantastic hosts! What more could you want?”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

For a week's holiday over Easter we wanted a large property for us and our 4 grown up teenagers, plus we had three extras dropping in for a couple of days. The house is arranged over three floors with a vast open plan kitchen and upstairs living room and felt plenty big enough for all of us. Conway did a fantastic job of configuring the beds before we arrived so we could just turn up and it was all sorted!

You will have a great time if you stay here. We were greeted after a long drive with Conway making us a cup of tea and a large plate of Steph's delicious warm welsh cakes and the smell of fresh bread from the bread maker. We also were surprised and delighted by the very generous welcome pack of food plus fresh eggs from the chickens every day!

The house stands on top of a hill and has the most amazing views over the Brecons. There are great walks from the door of the house and for ones a bit farther away Conway was really helpful recommending walks and even driving us out to the start of walks that we would never have discovered on our own.

After a long day walking it was a treat to find that the New Inn pub which is literally at the end of the road offers affordable fantastic home made food and made us really welcome. We enjoyed it so much we went back during the week for the pub quiz.

Everything about the house is of a good or high standard. There is a big American fridge freezer and the kids loved the ice dispenser. There is a big gas stove, griddle and oven and lots of kitchen gadgets if you enjoy cooking. The kids enjoyed the large smart TV in the lounge for watching You Tube and playing on the Wii downstairs. There is wifi throughout and the heating and hot showers were great at the end of a long muddy walk.

What makes this place stand out however isn't just the great facilities but the warm welcome that Conway and Steph provide. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: facilities, location hosts
Liked least: weather!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davee123...
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is truly Magnificent!”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Myself and 5 Friends stayed at The Acre in August 2014, and what a fantastic time we had, Celebrating our friends retirement, sat overlooking the fantastic view down the valley, whilst having a BBQ was just spectacular. The hosts Steph and Conway were more than helpful with any requests. The welcome we received from Conway on arrival was lovely, The Acre really is a special place. I Cant wait to come back with the Family this year.

Thank You.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;