We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,968)
Filter reviews
1,969 results
Traveller rating
496
651
444
222
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
651
444
222
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand staircaseopposite the castlecardiff castlemillennium stadiumlovely hotelbit datedcity centreroom was largeweekend breakcar parkingcooked breakfastfoyerprincipalitywelshconcert
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,969 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Angel,Cardiff,whoooo as valley girl this was the bees knees in the 70s..Top hotel ,so not expecting much as having read previous comments thought ok for a stop over after a theatre trip..(moved from the valleys many years ago travelled all over the world since)..so thread bare carpets I thought....NO what a pleasant surprise,spotlessly clean,very comfortable bed,ok you have a main road here so take ear plugs,as they have sash windows...this deal with Grupon,included 3 course meal with wine...ok cheap or what....NO a lovely bottle of Shiraz,and a meal we would would have happily paid top dollar,excellent,and perfectly presented were served by a super young lady called Ashley,..in fact all the staff were lovely,friendly...breakfast lovely ok it could gave been hotter but how many times have were said this eating in hotels,but you do get the choice of eggs...eg...poached,scrambled etc..so make the most of it...all in all a lovely stay,I would recommend this to my friends...and thank you Angel Hotel for not bursting my 1970 s bubble.......this hotel is very central to all ameanaties,directly opposite the castle,10 minute walk from railway station......enjoy a lovely hotel....

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Marie H,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff you came across represented the hotel well. The Groupon deal is very good so keep an eye out for further offers on both Groupon and with us directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Angel....

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a twin room. It was very small and no enough space. This room is not for two persons. Maximum for one. Don’t think will book this hotel again. Also we couldn’t open the window, which is sth so weird

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Omar H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry you found the twin room too small. We appreciate your feedback and will address the points you have raised.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again for a better stay.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

A nice atmosphere, lovely variety for breakfast. Between our group we had continental, full English, boiled eggs, sausage sandwich. Coffee was piping hot and tasty. We arrived at about 10am for breakfast, by about 11 the breakfast room was full, so try and arrive early so as to not be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank webblorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear webblorna,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us and hope it set you up well for the day ahead.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We paid over £600 for a twin for 2 nights expected at least a clean well maintained room - no

This hotel needs serious refurbishment and while it is this state their prices should reflect this. I have stayed in better B&Bs

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Claire H,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, however I am pleased that the team on duty assisted you with a room move when highlighted and your second room was up to our usual high standard.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Were very disappointed with the hotel and everything about it except the breakfast
People call it tired when I would call it in need of a lot of decoration and refurnishing
All areas looked shabby
uninviting bar area
Our room 112 was very small for a double not that nice at all
The staff were nice throughout
The hotel is not like the pictures on there site
For me the room was very noisy with emergency sirens throughout the night also noisy bars empting
Not good enough for the price we paid
No return

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank familyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear familyunitedkingdom,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy any aspects of your stay with us. We will certainly look into the points you have raised.

Kind Regards

Richard Smith
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews