We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels/motels. It always presents a great value for a family on a budget. In the morning we enjoyed a really nice breakfast with proper coffee. The Receptionists were friendly and helpful. And our room was comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Join for free IHG Rewards Club and you will be offered a discounted rate. And it will be the best ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomo_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissF_11, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you found it was a great value for a family on a budget. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We are glad you found the receptionists to be friendly and helpful I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Newport soon.

Kind Regards

Cerys Owen
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

I was doing the Wales Velothon cycle event that involved leaving the hotel at 5.40am. Other cyclists were booked in so they laid on breakfast by 5am! Brilliant. Excellent price for modern spotless hotel. Just off the M4 and only 10mins from Cardiff East Park & Ride. Will definitely recommend to friends doing the same event or just visiting the area.

Room Tip: Very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissF_11, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with such a wonderful review of your stay last weekend. Its is great to hear you had such a positive experience and that you would recommend our Hotel to your friends. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Fletcher, Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my wife and her mum whilst visiting relatives.
Rooms good and clean with air con
Beds comfy
Good buffet breakfast
For us, good value for money
The pub next door has a good range of drinks and the food menu is fine

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Smudger160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerys O, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that the hotel was in a great location for your needs and that you found the rooms to be clean with comfortable beds.

We are overjoyed that you found our Express Start Breakfast good and the hotel was good value for money.

We shall pass your comment about the Dragonfly Pub.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Newport in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cerys Owen
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

A modern, clean and well appointed hotel. Quiet location. My only (relatively minor) criticism is the quality of the cooked breakfast. As other reviews have pointed out this consists of rubbery sausages, unappetising bacon and a seemingly endless supply of baked beans. The scrambled egg was acceptable however.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with some feedback in regards to your stay at our property. It is wonderful to read that the Hotel was ideally located for your needs, modern, clean and quiet. We truly appreciated all feedback we receive from our guests, as we are always looking for ways to improve the service we provide, rest assured I will be sure to pass on all of your feedback to my colleagues.

I do hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us in the future, should you find yourself in the area again.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here again for two nights over a weekend. Nice welcome. Room more than adequate with a good bathroom. Very hot weather so tried to sleep with the window open. Big mistake. Odd number rooms on noisy road side! Although only a nuisance with window open. Breakfast good. Not full English but bacon, sausage, beans and scrambled egg available. Plus cereals, fruit etc. Will definitely use again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FrancesBlodwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased to read that the Hotel was in an ideal location for your needs, your room was adequate and that you had a nice welcome upon arrival at the Hotel from my colleagues. All of your feedback is very much appreciated and will be pass on to my colleagues.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
598 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
551 reviews
7.9 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Travelodge Newport Central
4.0 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
13.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: RM262 - RM807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking. Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free Wi-Fi available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers an inclusive continental buffet breakfast with selected hot items each morning and kids stay free in our family rooms when sharing with a parent. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. Our comfy guestrooms are perfect for unwinding in. Inside, you'll find lots of handy features including 32-inch TVs with Freeview, en suites with a power shower and complimentary tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing