We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Barn Inn(Llanmartin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hazel Court(Llanwern)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
322
260
61
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
260
61
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdragonfly pubpub next doorbeans and scrambled eggbusiness parkfree wifithe dragonair congood sizebreakfast was includedbudget hotelquiet locationlounge areacomfy bedeasy accessexcellent hotelshort staypleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

we stayed here for Coldplay at Principality stadium. Nice hotel and breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and modern although the bed seemed smaller than a normal double?? comfy enough. about 10 miles from Cardiff city centre, 20 mins by car. convenient. one or two of the staff a little disinterested and not too friendly though

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndrewF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay with us for Coldplay. I am so pleased to read that the hotel was in an ideal and convenient location for your needs and that you found your room to be clean and modern. We truly appreciate feedback such as yours, as we are always striving to improve upon the service we provide our guests, I will be sure to pass on your comments to my colleagues.

I do hope that you will return to the Hotel in the future should you find yourself in the area again.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels/motels. It always presents a great value for a family on a budget. In the morning we enjoyed a really nice breakfast with proper coffee. The Receptionists were friendly and helpful. And our room was comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Join for free IHG Rewards Club and you will be offered a discounted rate. And it will be the best rate available anywhere on the net.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomo_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissF_11, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you found it was a great value for a family on a budget. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We are glad you found the receptionists to be friendly and helpful I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Newport soon.

Kind Regards

Cerys Owen
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I was doing the Wales Velothon cycle event that involved leaving the hotel at 5.40am. Other cyclists were booked in so they laid on breakfast by 5am! Brilliant. Excellent price for modern spotless hotel. Just off the M4 and only 10mins from Cardiff East Park & Ride. Will definitely recommend to friends doing the same event or just visiting the area.

Room Tip: Very quiet location.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissF_11, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with such a wonderful review of your stay last weekend. Its is great to hear you had such a positive experience and that you would recommend our Hotel to your friends. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Fletcher, Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my wife and her mum whilst visiting relatives.
Rooms good and clean with air con
Beds comfy
Good buffet breakfast
For us, good value for money
The pub next door has a good range of drinks and the food menu is fine

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Smudger160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerys O, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that the hotel was in a great location for your needs and that you found the rooms to be clean with comfortable beds.

We are overjoyed that you found our Express Start Breakfast good and the hotel was good value for money.

We shall pass your comment about the Dragonfly Pub.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Newport in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cerys Owen
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

A modern, clean and well appointed hotel. Quiet location. My only (relatively minor) criticism is the quality of the cooked breakfast. As other reviews have pointed out this consists of rubbery sausages, unappetising bacon and a seemingly endless supply of baked beans. The scrambled egg was acceptable however.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with some feedback in regards to your stay at our property. It is wonderful to read that the Hotel was ideally located for your needs, modern, clean and quiet. We truly appreciated all feedback we receive from our guests, as we are always looking for ways to improve the service we provide, rest assured I will be sure to pass on all of your feedback to my colleagues.

I do hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us in the future, should you find yourself in the area again.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews