We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We needed a break so an overnight in Newport seemed appropriate, we stayed previously, used the holiday inn also in Newport but was not impressed as it was in need of a good refurbishment .The holiday inn express although a little more expensive but included breakfast was modern in appearance very clean with very comfortable beds. We had dinner in the pub next door, good food and not too expensive.
The young man on reception was very pleasant and efficient and is an asset to this hotel.
Would we stay again we certainly would with pleasure

Room Tip: Quieter at the back but did not hear road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with this valuable review.
It is lovely to know that the Hotel suited your needs and that you had a welcoming and comfortable stay with us. The team at the hotel is truly grateful for such positive feedback, I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to my colleagues. To know that you would return to us again, should you find yourself in the area, is truly wonderful.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

we stayed here for Coldplay at Principality stadium. Nice hotel and breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and modern although the bed seemed smaller than a normal double?? comfy enough. about 10 miles from Cardiff city centre, 20 mins by car. convenient. one or two of the staff a little disinterested and not too friendly though

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndrewF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay with us for Coldplay. I am so pleased to read that the hotel was in an ideal and convenient location for your needs and that you found your room to be clean and modern. We truly appreciate feedback such as yours, as we are always striving to improve upon the service we provide our guests, I will be sure to pass on your comments to my colleagues.

I do hope that you will return to the Hotel in the future should you find yourself in the area again.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels/motels. It always presents a great value for a family on a budget. In the morning we enjoyed a really nice breakfast with proper coffee. The Receptionists were friendly and helpful. And our room was comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Join for free IHG Rewards Club and you will be offered a discounted rate. And it will be the best ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomo_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissF_11, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you found it was a great value for a family on a budget. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We are glad you found the receptionists to be friendly and helpful I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Newport soon.

Kind Regards

Cerys Owen
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I was doing the Wales Velothon cycle event that involved leaving the hotel at 5.40am. Other cyclists were booked in so they laid on breakfast by 5am! Brilliant. Excellent price for modern spotless hotel. Just off the M4 and only 10mins from Cardiff East Park & Ride. Will definitely recommend to friends doing the same event or just visiting the area.

Room Tip: Very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissF_11, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with such a wonderful review of your stay last weekend. Its is great to hear you had such a positive experience and that you would recommend our Hotel to your friends. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Fletcher, Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my wife and her mum whilst visiting relatives.
Rooms good and clean with air con
Beds comfy
Good buffet breakfast
For us, good value for money
The pub next door has a good range of drinks and the food menu is fine

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Smudger160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerys O, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that the hotel was in a great location for your needs and that you found the rooms to be clean with comfortable beds.

We are overjoyed that you found our Express Start Breakfast good and the hotel was good value for money.

We shall pass your comment about the Dragonfly Pub.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Newport in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cerys Owen
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
5.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
561 reviews
4.0 km away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
The Queens Hotel, Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
388 reviews
9.3 km away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: RM222 - RM703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking. Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free Wi-Fi available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers an inclusive continental buffet breakfast with selected hot items each morning and kids stay free in our family rooms when sharing with a parent. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. Our comfy guestrooms are perfect for unwinding in. Inside, you'll find lots of handy features including 32-inch TVs with Freeview, en suites with a power shower and complimentary tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing