We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
335
265
63
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
265
63
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdragonfly pubpub next doorbeans and scrambled eggbusiness parkfree wifiair conthe dragongood sizebreakfast was includedbudget hotelrooms are cleanquiet locationlounge areacomfy bedeasy accessexcellent hotelshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Our room was ok but I'd asked for a lower floor room and quiet location. We were on the top floor and very close to the lift well, so much door banging and kids raised voices.....ugh! Our bed was comfy but the pillows very hard and bouncy. The choice at breakfast was poor, scrambled eggs had run out, no fried eggs, no tomatoes, and the few bananas were rotten!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pippa0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Pippa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We always strive to do our best to ensure we are able to cater for our guests requests and it is disappointing to read that we were unable to do this for your stay with us.

I can only apologise that you did not have a great stay with us from the noise from other guests to the choices at breakfast; our breakfast offering only offers a choice of continental with 4 hot items to enhance the breakfast experience – Cumberland Sausage, Bacon, Beans & Scrambled Egg. We are always encouraging feedback from our guests about their stay and our services so that we can then use this when looking for ways to make improvements to what we have on offer.

Our hotel is manned 24 hours a day, should you experience any noise issues with your room when you stay with us in the future please contact us and we will do everything we can to move you to a quieter location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Philippa Jones
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Had travelled down to Wales after a night in Edinburgh. I had experienced a very pleasant stay in the Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh, so I decided to stick with the Holiday Inn Express group.
I used booking.com for making the arrangements. I selected my dates, and accepted the very good deal. It was non-refundable which made it slightly cheaper. My sat-nav wouldn't accept the address so I headed for Newport. I stopped about 30 minutes out of Newport to confirm the address, when I noticed that I was expected at the hotel in 3 weeks time, instead of that night. I rang booking.com, who contacted the hotel on my behalf. The hotel kindly agreed to refund my payment, and even offered to cancel the booking altogether if I so chose. Considered it was a non-refundable booking, I thought that was very generous of them. I did proceed with the booking, with the dates of my stay now adjusted.
The hotel is easy to find, plenty of free parking, and very nicely presented. The rooms are a nice size, immaculately clean, and very quiet. There is a good sized TV, air-conditioning, ironing stuff, hanging space, kettle and coffee/tea and the beds can be reversed depending on whether you like a hard or soft mattress.
The bathroom was a good size and, again, immaculately presented, with plenty of towels and soap.
The included breakfast had a good selection of cereals, juices, toasts, muffins, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea and the hot section of bacon, sausage, beans and scrambled eggs. There were also morning newspapers to read and take.
The staff were exceptionally polite and all very nice.
Overall, another great experience for me.
I would definitely recommend Holiday Inn Express in Newport to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Callas6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I can see that you had a great stay with us and it certainly fills me with pride that my team were able to deliver such a great experience for you during your time of need!

It is great to read that you found the room, bathroom, breakfast offering and the morning newspapers on offer great and that they added to your experience with us!

I hope you have a safe journey back home and when you return you come back and stay with us again for another great stay!

Many Thanks

Philippa
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing customer service and lovely facilities. Staff go above and beyond to help and nothing is too much for them. Breakfast is lovely with a fantastic widespread choice of hot and cold. The hot buffet is very good quality and well cooked. Highly recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stareyes39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us with your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Newport. We are delighted to read that you received amazing customer service and enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. It is also lovely to read that you enjoyed the included breakfast and that the staff went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to my team and we hope to welcome you back with us again in the neat future.

Kind Regards
Tia Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This was an excellent experience, we arrived a bit later than planned with two tired children, and were checked in swiftly by the very helpful staff. We were only there for the night but it was very clean, very quiet and comfortable! Great breakfast in the morning too.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jojovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Dear Jo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us with your feedback regarding your stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Newport, it is a pleasure to read that you had an excellent experience with us, the staff were helpful and that you had a clean, comfortable, quiet nights stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to my team.

Kind Regards
Tia Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We needed a break so an overnight in Newport seemed appropriate, we stayed previously, used the holiday inn also in Newport but was not impressed as it was in need of a good refurbishment .The holiday inn express although a little more expensive but included breakfast was modern in appearance very clean with very comfortable beds. We had dinner in the pub next door, good food and not too expensive.
The young man on reception was very pleasant and efficient and is an asset to this hotel.
Would we stay again we certainly would with pleasure

Room Tip: Quieter at the back but did not hear road noise.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with this valuable review.
It is lovely to know that the Hotel suited your needs and that you had a welcoming and comfortable stay with us. The team at the hotel is truly grateful for such positive feedback, I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to my colleagues. To know that you would return to us again, should you find yourself in the area, is truly wonderful.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Many Thanks
Kate Fletcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews