We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$85
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Morgans Hotel(Swansea)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White House(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Alexander(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$76
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Devon View Guest House(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beachcomber(Swansea)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arches Hotel(Swansea)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Blas Gwyr(Llangennith)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
36
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbara brithdelicious welsh cakesattic roomwonderful hostsbreakfast roomperfect locationa great staycooked breakfaston arrivalcentoiletriesamenitiesdogmumblesguests
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

What a fantastic welcome from our hosts after a long car journey in Friday traffic. Advice on local restaurants to make sure we were fully restored and then the most comfortable bed to sink into. The home cooked breakfasts were delicious and the Eggs Benedict cooked to perfection. The room was extremely comfortable and spotless. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbbadoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cen D, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi, Thank you for this review. It was a pleasure to have you at Tides Reach and we do hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

This has to be the best possible place to stay in the Mumbles! Why stay anywhere else when here you get the warmest of welcomes from hosts Cen & Ali who go out of their way to ensure you feel at home. Not to mention freshly made Welsh Cakes, a beautifully appointed room with many thoughtful touches, a quiet & comfy nights sleep, waking to the sun rising over the sea (ok, I missed this due to a blissful lie-in but it would’ve been a fab view from our attic room!) a tasty cooked to order breakfast with homemade bread and/or pancakes (and the most delicious Welsh bacon) and all within a short stroll to shops, restaurants and even a castle! I wouldn’t stay anywhere else and can’t wait to return for my third visit.

Room Tip: Attic room has incredible panoramic sea views plus a cosy lounge area for sharing a bottle of wine (beware sloping ceiling afterwards!) ;)
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelloves2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cen D, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

What a fabulous review - so good to have you and also cannot wait for you and your husband to return to us. We will always be thrilled to have you at Tides Reach.
Thank you once again for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Fab breakfasts. Comfy beds. Wonderful homemade welsh cakes, bread, jam, marmalade, granola and muffins.
Cen & Ali make you feel very welcome.
If we go back to the Mumbles we would only want to stay at Tides Reach.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debosh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cen D, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much for this review - you were also lovely guests and made us feel like our jobs are worth doing.
Thank you .
Cen & Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

From entering the building to goodbyes the welcome and hospitality is second to none. Cenydd and Ali are the friendliest of hosts giving constant care and attention to all aspects of the stay. Highly recommended for accommodation, food and VFM

Room Tip: Wonderful Sea Views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cen D, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you so much for this glowing review. It was a pleasure having all of you to stay and you gave such a good vibe in the breakfast room.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Tides Reach had been recommended to us by friends who had stayed there previously, and spoke very highly of it. And, with a room price of £90 per night, our expectations were quite high.

The proprietors were very welcoming and helpful, and the room, whilst quite small, was comfortable. It was quite cold, being December, and when I asked about how to vary the temperature, I was told that the heating was only turned on for a couple of hours a day. this would not be a problem if there was a lounge - but there isn't one! On days when the weather is too foul to go out, guests are therefore confined to their (unheated) rooms. The view from our room was over the rear gardens of adjacent properties, which was a bit disappointing, given the seaside location of the guest house.

Car parking is made available in the nearby Norton House Hotel (same room rate!), which is fine as long as they are not hosting an event, such as a wedding. If the carpark is full, guests must park in local streets, which can mean quite a walk back to the hotel.

Compared to Norton House Hotel, Tides Reach represents poor value for money. Even Premier Inn, with warm rooms and ample car parking, represents a better option.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank scornelly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cen D, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for this review.
We are delighted that you found the reception welcoming and our approach to your needs helpful.
We are very sorry to read that you found it so cold in your room; it was unfortunate that the weather (so foul) required you to spend more time in your room. We do. however, thank you for raising this as it identifies that we need to be more sensitive to when the heating is on and being more aware of when our guests are inside and what the weather is doing.
In addition to this, at this time we were also struggling to get adequate heat to all the rooms in the house simultaneously , but thankfully this has now been resolved.
Whilst we agree that we are in a seaside location,due to the nature of the house, it is not possible for all rooms to have the sea view. We are very thankful that two of our rooms do have sea views along with our breakfast room.
We are grateful to the Norton Hotel for accommodating our guest car parking but we acknowledge it would be more ideal if we had better parking facilities here, however parking in the Mumbles is notoriously challenging. ,
We are also sad to hear that you felt that it was not value for money staying here, and so we would love to take this opportunity to invite you back to us where hopefully you can have a better experience. If you would like to contact us directly to arrange a stay at a future date, at a special rate, then we would love to hear from you.
Best wishes,
Cen & Ali @ Tides Reach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews