We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful apartment in prime location for a...”
other travellers have booked this property
IMG_1408.JPG
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IMG_1408.JPG
Inside Milkwood House, the Living Room IMG_0956.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
IMG_1408.JPG
Inside Milkwood House, the Living Room
IMG_0956.JPG
IMG 0334landscape
IMG 0429
IMG 0259
IMG_0699.JPG
IMG_0280.JPG
IMG_1415.JPG
IMG_1420.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Deborah L
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful apartment in prime location for a family trip.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We found this delightful apartment on this website and carefully read the reviews - slightly concerned by the poorly spelled and badly drafted one, but realised fairly quickly that everyone else was singing Milkwood's praises, and so we booked. And how glad are we that we did! It is a lovely, spacious apartment which was exactly what we needed - with three children aged between 10 and 16, to have stayed in a hotel would have cost a fortune. But we were able to bring the food that we needed, settle in and enjoy our time in a "home from home" environment, with the children being able to do their own thing as well. The facilities are superb, particularly liking the excellent Bose Ipod docking station. We saved money on our stay by bringing our own home-cooked chili con carne, which we heated up in the beautiful and well equipped kitchen, and my husband and I sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the bottle of wine which Andrew had generously supplied. Ours was a short stay, but we would definitely return and use Milkwood House as a base for a longer stay, as it ticks all of the boxes on our list. Hubby even made use of one of the bikes that was available to use and took advantage of a gloriously sunny Sunday morning. Only disappointing thing was that I looked out, with interest, for the sinister "Eastern Europeans" "hanging around" as described by the poor speller, and found no trace whatsoever! The apartment is in a safe, clean and delightful part of the town, and we managed very well in the carpark with a large 7 seater Citroen Grand Picasso! The restaurant next door is definitely worth a visit, by the way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Andrew, the owner, really cares about what people think of his lovely apartment.
Liked least: Wish we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coq_au_vi...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The apartment was great, well equipped, nicely furnished and luxurious. However the boiler was not user friendly at all and we had to keep boosting it to get hot water.
The car park was horrendously tiny, good job I drive a small car.
Other than that, we had a wonderful time.
The owner, Andrew, and his wife were really friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in September 2013

As frequent visitors to Milkwood House, we wondered if we had been visiting the same place as the previous reviewer. Andrew has always been friendly, efficient and gone out of his way to help make our stays pleasant.

Agreed the car park does require a bit of careful manoeuvring, but once inside the communal hallway, this has always appeared clean and fresh smelling. Rarely have we encountered anyone en route to the flat, so it is unfair to suggest that all the residents are Eastern Europeans, smoking cannabis.

This modern flat is in a super location in a prestigious part of the Swansea Marina development, with easy access to the sea and all the amenities that Swansea and the Gower have to offer.

Well maintained, it is furnished and equipped to a very high standard, there is everything you need, with even a selection of DVDs and electronic games to keep the everyone happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super location
Liked least: Narrow car park ramps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giff2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, clean and great location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A very clean, well equipped, spacious accommodation in a great location. Very close to city centre, marina and beach. Had a glass of wine on the top floor bar of the building next door, which happens to be the tallest in all Wales. A fantastic panoramic view .
We had no problems parking our Peugeot 307 in the secure underground car park.
Quiet at night with fantastic soundproofing.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed,Not great!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked Milkwood House for a 3 night stay to visit our eldest son who lives in Swansea. We know Swansea well and had a fair idea when we booked this flat that it would be very handy for town, visiting Mumbles, and the LC2 swimming pool. I was slightly concerned before we arrived as no paper work , directions etc were issued, just a email telling me to call Andrew when we arrived in Swansea. I was told I could not get into the flat until 4pm somewhat late I thought. We dully arrived and I called Andrew to be told that he was running late and that we should meet him at 4.10pm outside the flat. We met and he led us into the under ground parking area. This is a joke. We have a 5 series BMW and it was like a top gear experiment getting the car around corners with 1mm either side spare. Throughout our brief stay people came into the car park through the exit and drove around ignoring no entry signs etc as it was impossible to manoeuvre vehicles.
Once into the block of flats the smell of smoke/cannabis was over whelming. Andrew took us into the flat and showed us the heaters etc. Once he had left i noticed the fridge had not been cleaned, and had a smell inside, and the cooker hob was also dirty. Two clocks in the bedrooms had no batteries in, and the settee was stained and the cushions needed washing!
I contacted Andrew about the smell of smoke and the fridge etc, he did offer to come back and clean again and bring candles to hide the smell, however we declined the offer. Later we went out of the block through a front door which was supposed to be secure, it wasn't the lock had broken and anyone could enter the flats.
We noticed that all the flat residents were Eastern European young men, and this made me rather anxious with 2 young children in tow! Signs had been put up around the lift area asking people not to smoke in the building, however Andrew had informed us that the whole block was no smoking. We stayed 2 nights so we could see our son, but left early on Saturday.
I did leave a letter for Andrew stating all the Above, but as yet have had no contact from him, or refund. To round up,the flat is old and tired, and the block is not safe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us this, really sorry that it seems things weren't up to our usual standards. We never get any complaints so this is a new experience for us but something we will investigate for sure. We would of course welcome more detail so please contact me to see what we can do to make sure this doesn't happen again, we would really value that. I have also passed your observations on to the management of Meridian Bay as this is an exclusive area in Swansea with some high profile neighbours (including premiership footballers) so it's important for us collectively living in this area that any shortcomings in quality are addressed. Rest assured, everything will be done to ensure our high standards are maintained. So thanks once again, and we are so sorry that things weren't to your liking, we hope to hear from you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing