We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
9
9
7
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
7
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room each morning on arrival dishwasher tv keys taxi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Booked on booking.com and seen the pics which were amazing. What it doesn't tell u is the pics are from the hotel or totally different apparentment that we stayed in. Pics looked like it was a luxury apartment - but the apartment we got was just like someone's flat. The living room wallpaper was slightly peeling and the furniture was old and dated. The bathroom and en suit both had black mould round the seals - but was liveable. Cleaners came in and emptied bins and made beds each morning. When we arrived there was fresh milk and tea and coffee making stuff available. The apartment is also a 10 min walk from the main hotel where u pick up the keys so if u don't have a car and have a lot of bags and kids - bear this in mind before you let ur taxi leave. Good location only a 10 min walk Into the town - but if ur not from the area please check what way u go as it's right at the top of a street that we were warned by numerous people that it's not the safest of streets for walking down. So much to do tho so not in apartment a lot and managed to get it at a really good price so worth the money

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank mag1981mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

After a mix up at the Apple apartments, we booked the Malone Lodge it was a similar price and looked like similar standard of accommodation.WRONG!
We checked in at the Lodge, lovely, clean and with friendly staff to be redirected to alternative accommodation, the Malone Mews, down the street, across the main road and around the corner. The building was less than salubrious, the flat itself was tatty. The carpets needed cleaning, there were pubic looking hairs in the bath, the fridge was at a 45 degree angle in its housing. I would not have been happy about any of us walking home to the apartment. We were only staying for one night and the beds were clean and comfortable, the tv worked but the phone did not, I feel that the whole place would benefit from redecorating or at least a clean,
Given the chance I would stay at the Lodge but not the Mews.....or beter still pay the same price and book to stay at the Apple..

Room Tip: ensure you are booked into the Lodge and not the Mews
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judef_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

The Malone Lodge Hotel runs Malone Mews, but there the similarity ends. Our taxi driver told use the Lodge owners are buying other properties in the area and running them. So what's the problem?

Check in needs to be at the Lodge and then you must trundle your bags two and a half blocks to the Mews - rain, hail or shine. (Reception treats you with disdain as you are not staying in the hotel.) As we were a group of five, we pre-booked two rooms. They planned for one room to be in one direction of the hotel and the other room to be in the other direction, separating our family by perhaps a kilometre, They were unhappy that insisted on having what we booked - two rooms at the Mews.

Both rooms shared the following:
- an unpleasant odour;
- no plugs for the kitchen sink - use a small bucket;
- unsatisfactory heating provisions;
- a dirty appearance in the outside environs;

There was no in house caretaker/manager, so some people partied over two floors all night, creating considerable noise. Our dishwasher did not have a top shelf and the bottom shelf had no wheels. Over two nights we found more and more to dislike about this place.

Our holiday took us through England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Far and away, this was the worst accommodation of our trip.

In a word - avoid.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Great spot. Apartment had two bedrooms and we were two couples. Could chill together in sitting room and brought our own snacks and drinks for evenings.
The entrance and stairway is a bit tired looking which worried me on arrival but the apartment was perfect. Rooms were spotless and warm and cosy. Had a fire in sitting room and plenty of comfortable seating.
Great location. Great weekend. Highly recommend it for friends or a family.
Very reasonably priced too.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen party. Arrived to hotel to check in, parked in hotel free car park which seemed to have stagnant sewerage in one corner of it, staff at reception were very friendly. It was raining and we were advised to walk to the apartments. Long miserable walk with luggage and when we got there we noted there was parking underneath so we actually could have driven!

Apartments are average. Large rooms with clean sheets and nice towels. Dated and worn furniture but adequate for what out party wanted. The shower in the main bathroom was a pipe leading from the taps but the tap didn't work at all so we all had to share the ensuite shower which had no pressure and temperature was variable.

Overall size is only good point as we met in one apartment for party games but otherwise wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AislingMcGing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews