We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Manse B & B(Ballycastle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Caislean(Ballycastle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carnately Lodge(Ballycastle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corratavey B&B(Ballycastle)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
306
224
129
67
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
224
129
67
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverycosta coffeesea viewhotel restaurantcodfront of houselovely mealsea frontrathlin islandcooked breakfastgiants causewaydark hedgesgame of thronesyogurtbistrofoyerwedding
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in the Marine Hotel. Situation is excellent, with beautiful views over to Rathlin Island and Fair Head and only a short walk to the marina, harbour and town centre. Although we stayed at the end of March and it was quite cold outside, the hotel was warm, cosy and inviting. Our bedroom and bathroom were modern, spacious and spotless. Breakfast selection was excellent, with a cooked breakfast made to order, so everything was fresh and tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a great time for exploring the wonderful sights around the north coast, as the roads were very quiet - in the summer, traffic would be bumper to bumper! Free parking at the back of the hotel was an added bonus. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Anne
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are extremely grateful for the kind comments about your experience when you stayed with us recently. I will ensure that all the team front and back of house are informed of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please like us on Facebook to keep informed of all upcoming offers!
Kind Regards,
Joanne Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Good refurb in the bistro. Food excellent staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend the marine bistro if looking for good food in Ballycastle for family and friends. Dessert yummy staff accommodating bringing two spoons!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Beverly,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are extremely grateful for the kind comments about your experience when you dined with us recently. I will ensure that all the team are informed of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please like us on Facebook to keep informed of all upcoming offers!
Kind Regards,
Joanne Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Dinner after the makeover, no atmosphere very stark, like eating in a staff canteen. The food came on cold plates, asked for a medium to well steak, charred on the outside, rare in the middle. Staff ok but I wouldn't call them friendly. Went to pay the bill instead of £56.00 put £560.00 in the machine. Food was avarage

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DaveBealing247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the Restaurant Manager dealt with your table on Friday night and has implemented more training with the waitress who non-intentionally entered an additional zero, l apologize for the short comings in service and hope it will not deter you from frequenting the restaurant again to show that the issues you have mentioned have been addressed.

Dave can you contact Selena on Restaurant@marinehotelballycastle.com who will look after your reservation personally.

Kind Regards,

Joanne Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in the Marine Hotel which is a truly wonderful base for exploring the many delightful sights around the Causeway Coast. I was pleased that there was ample off road free car parking to the rear of the hotel. The hotel has recently been refurbished resulting is fresh, contemporary, stylish decor and furnishings in the lobby and restaurant. At breakfast there was an excellent selection of cold foods (cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc) available in the buffet and it was really lovely having the tasty cooked breakfast served to our table which is so rare these days. Our bedroom was overlooking the seafront with stunning views towards Rathlin Island and the Scottish Coastline. The bedroom itself was spacious, clean and well equipped. As the hotel is located on the main road, there is traffic noise but this did not affect our comfortable night’s sleep. The staff throughout the hotel were most helpful, friendly and highly professional. The Costa coffee cafe in the lobby is an added bonus. There are several traditional pubs a few minutes walk from the hotel. We enjoyed the traditional music sessions in the Harbour Bar on Wednesday evening and in O’Connor’s pub on Thursday evening. Some parts of the Ensuite bathroom could be improved further but it is evident that the owners have invested significantly in renovations to date and will undoubtedly be upgrading the bathrooms further in the further. I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room 115 excellent sea views
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Johnny,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are extremely grateful for the kind comments about your experience when you stayed with us recently. I will ensure that all the team are informed of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please like us on Facebook to keep informed of all upcoming offers!
Kind Regards,
Joanne Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Marine Hotel Ballycastle is located right on the front, just beside the Beach, near the Harbour, near the Tennis Club, looking out at Rathlin Island, and in the middle of what goes on at the coast at Ballycastle, which is at the top North East corner of this country.
Enjoyed Salmon Fillet, served on Braised Sweet Potatoes, with Pickled Fennel and Aubergine Caponata, very nice indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mo_DaW171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Mo,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are extremely grateful for the kind comments about your experience when you dined with us recently. I will ensure that all the team are informed of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please like us on Facebook to keep informed of all upcoming offers!
Kind Regards,
Joanne Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews