We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nutgrove House(Downpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch School B&B(Downpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
52
38
14
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
38
14
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching innold stylelots of characterbeer gardenstayed in room numberstaff member namedlast weekendlovely foodsteeped in historywooden floorsan evening meallovely placewould definitely stay here againwarm welcomerelaxed atmospherecraicpint
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This is a great bar/restaurant/hotel with a charming atmosphere that is full of historical features. I have lunched there on a number occasions and never been disappoints. Recently enjoyed an excellent meal with colleagues that included one of the best chilli squid I have ever had. Happy to recommend this for a meal and a drink.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Philip M,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are delighted that you enjoy Denvir's, and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Young girls that manage this restaurant are professional and friendly. The room was warm and lighting was perfect. We had calamari starters which was perfectly cooked and presented. All are main courses were delishious. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. We had two bottles of wine and the meals cost £25 per person.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank shintyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear ShintyNIreland,
Thank you so much for the kind review and recommendation. The girls will be delighted with your comments, particularly the "young" one!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
In the meantime, take care,
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

we stayed here on sat the 25/11.17 room no 6 was just lovely ,old but clean and warm,breakfast was just perfect,dinner was poor ,soggy chips and very little veg,staff nice,would stay there again ,but would eat somewhere else

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meath099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Meath099,
Thank you for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, but also extremely disappointed that you were unhappy with your dinner. Your experience is totally out of kilter with the vast majority of our reviews, (please see our other TripAdvisor, Denvir's, under restaurants), but I do appreciate that errors can be made. I just wish you had brought this to our attention when you were dining with us. It would have been no issue at all to provide you with more veg and fresh chips.
I also do sincerely hope that you will stay with us again when, I'm sure, if you do decide to dine with us, everything will be perfect!
In the meantime, take care,
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

After a long night of traveling and an interesting start to our journey from Dublin to Downpatrick, all we wanted was a place to have a pint, a nice quiet dinner, and a warm bed. We got that and so much more at Denvir's Hotel. We were greeted as if we were family. There is no lift to the rooms so the climb was not so great but worth it. The room was huge and charming. Dinner was beyond anything we imagined. Do not miss breakfast. We promise that you won't regret it. The coffee was outstanding and the staff was always anxious to help us with whatever we needed. No parking on location, but several spots further up the road. Stay were wonderful and extremely knowledgeable. Natasha was our server for dinner and was quick and extremely polite.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Hi Ashley,
Thank you for such a kind review and may I just say that we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do try to be that "country home away from home" so it is great that you felt so welcome.
I also hope that our little part of the country was as beautiful and interesting as you hoped, we certainly feel that it is a hidden gem, and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in Ireland.
Hopefully we'll see you again, but, in the meantime, take care and be assured, we'll make sure that Natasha is made aware of your kind comments.
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This place is really cool! So much history! Beautifully restored. Our room was comfy and the complimentary breakfast excellent! The morning we checked out our server/receptionist Damien gave us a tour of the place and filled us in on its history. He was fantastic! My only complaint is that the noise level from the pub was loud until late into the night. But we stayed on a Saturday so I guess it's to be expected. I absolutely recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wmjuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we'll make sure to pass on your kind words to Damien.
As you say the Inn is full of history, as is the town and the surrounding countryside, and you are correct, we do tend to be busy, particularly on a Saturday night. In the main we think this is a good thing. It's because we are well supported by our neighbours, always go where the locals go they say, and for our guests, it's a chance to meet people from the area and receive recommendations from them on what to do and where to go. We really do want our guests to feel welcome and part of the community.
Hopefully we'll see you again. In the meantime, take care, and thank you again,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews