We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage in a Stunning Location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage garden at front of mill cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage garden at front of mill cottage
Mill Cottage-back garden Fragrant roses in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Cottage garden at front of mill cottage
Mill Cottage-back garden
Fragrant roses in summer
Traditional farmhouse kitchen with range
Reclaimed pine furniture
Living room
Large living room with real fire
Miller's barn gable
Mill bedroom
Georgian window and Victorian fireplace
Kingsized bed
bespoke furniture
Set in 200 acre conservation farm
Roses below the window
Front gate
Mill cottage from lane
Tollymore forest park - Narnia country
Strangford lough
View from the cottage
View of Miller's barn from Mill Cottage
Traditional scullery with washing machine and dryer
Sailing on Strangford lough
view from the lane
Murlough beach - Mournes in the distance
Strangford Lough
Kilclief Beach
Tobermoney harvest sky with view of the Mournes
Snow scene at Mill cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Downpatrick, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul M
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Wonderful Cottage in a Stunning Location.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed in the cottage with my wife and 2 young grandchildren. The range in the kitchen meant their was always a cosy place to sit with the kids. The large garden is securely enclosed so the kids were able to run about safely all day. On the sunny days my wife and I enjoyed relaxing on the little patio at the back door of the cottage.

All in all a fabulous cottage in a great location. We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you Paul for this very nice review - we would be delighted to have you back to stay any time,
kind regards,
Patricia and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smartfami...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A special place”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful old buildings lovingly preserved, down a farm track with views over peaceful countryside. Great if want to get away from it all. The kitchen has a lovely cosy 'back in time' feel - I could sit there forever.
Cooking with traditional oil stove a bit tricky if not used to it, but its part of the charm.
We had a car - you probably would find getting around hard without one.
Limited wifi - which can be seen as a good or bad thing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage, beautiful rural location
Liked least: Teenagers were muttering about poor wifi but it helped adults stay away from work emails
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we would love to have you back to stay again in the future,
Kind regards, Patricia and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john O
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic country cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the cottage and found that it was even better than I could have imagined. The cottage itself was absolutely perfect; very similar to my grandmother's cottage which I visited as a child, except with all the mod cons we now expect, without losing it's charm. The gardens are surrounded by rolling fields; which, when we stopped, had many sheep with their newborn lambs. I could have quite happily spent most of the week relaxing at the cottage as it was so tranquil. Also available on the grounds was 'Miller's Barn' which is a smaller holiday let; this gives the opportunity for larger groups to stay on the same complex. There were seven of us travelling, three of us stopped in the cottage and my sister's family stopped in the 'Barn'. I would highly recommend 'Mill Cottage' for both it's comfort and it's position in the beautiful area of County Down. I would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you John for your review - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Mill cottage,
kind regards,
Patricia and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back any time in the future,
Kind regards, Patricia and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing