We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven of gourmet excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A quiet haven of gourmet excellence!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Recently stayed here as an unexpected birthday get away. The Beech Hill, is a gorgeous old-fashioned country house set in its own beautiful gardens a 5-min drive from Derry City Centre.

Everything about the hotel oozes relaxation from the 2 fires in the bar where you can happily while away the afternoon reading and drinking lovely guinness - to the wonderful service of the waiting staff - impeccable and unobtrusive.

The food at this hotel is exceptional - home-made breads and local produced cooked to a superlative quality.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the Superior Suite - the rooms are huge, with sofas & winged armchairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tickle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    143
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
138
386
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We had attended a funeral and the weather had been inclement - pretty cold - the ladies in the group were keen to have some refreshments and warm up!
The Beechill House, on Ardmore Road was nearby - we had lots of coffee, tea, scones (with butter, jam and fresh cream) - and they were heated.
This was a 'walk in' - no previous booking made and we were made exceptionally welcome and the staff were extremely courteous

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We decided at short notice to take a break at the hotel. Having stayed at the hotel before I knew what to expect, once again I was not disappointed. From the moment we arrived nothing but care and professionalism shone through the miserable Derry downpour.
I had discussed the most suitable room for our needs with the reception staff and they 'were on the money'. Our room for the two nights was a haven of luxury and relaxation. The bay window let us drink in the crisp clear view of the surrounding gardens and bustling river.

If you want a busy echoey bar playing the latest 'X Factor' star while you down your next 'Choc Pop' --- go over the bridge to the Cityside.

This beautiful house seeps good vibes --

Each member of staff shone with their attention to detail and willngness to make your stay a wonderful break from everyday routine.

The only fault I can identify is that we had to leave -- but my return will be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed overnight on Thursday night after going to a retirement dinner for a colleague. A very well known establishment in Derry, & stayed there before. Very nice rooms; well presented & comfortable. Perhaps, rooms we were in were a little tricky to access - seemed to be almost in a basement area. In saying all of that, one couldn't fault the rooms. Really well appointed. Great showers! The building itself is very interesting, with lots of signed photos of loads of famous people who've stayed. Historical connections with US marines.
The food was really very good. Breakfast was well presented.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingerardkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermanagh
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Conor and his team were very accommodating from start to finish during our weekend residential. The hotel is steeped in history and charm and the cosy fires everywhere made it so welcoming. The rooms are cosy & clean. The food throughout our stay was excellent, from warm scones & cream & jam to the dinners! All ten of us had nothing bad to say and we will definitely return as a group and/or individually.
Thank you to all the staff for everything

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.4 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.7 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
4.6 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
4.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.7 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): RM557 - RM995
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing