We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jays Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Aberdeen Airport(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$78
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Globe Inn(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rox Hotel(Aberdeen)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
174
35
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
35
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and biscuitsfriendly hostshome from homebreakfast was deliciouscity centreoff street parkingprivate parkingstay there againsingle roomshort walkroom was clean and comfortablefree wifiexcellent value for moneyyogurtaliceuniversityguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here. I had a nice clean and comfy room. Bed was very comfy. Had free wifi and car parking at the back. It took me about 20min to walk into the main town, which was a nice easy walk straight down Kings Road.
I also had breakfast there, there was pleanty of choice for breakfast. The hostess was extremly nice and very helpful. Would recommend it to any one.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hoadjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeandAlice, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the service and facilities we provided. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

George and Alice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed for one night in Aberdeen. Our room was very decent and well furnished, with excellent internet. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside was that the building is on a busy road and we could hear the traffic all the time. The walk into town was about 20 min.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank muddyriverdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeandAlice, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi
Thank you for your positive review, with regards to the facilities we control. I only wish that prospective guests would visit Google maps and view the location of their chosen accommodation and glean the requisite information with regards to the location etc.
We do have double glazing in all rooms, with the intent of keeping the heat in and any noise out. I am sorry that in this case the latter effect was not achieved.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our home and hope to see you again.

Regards,

George and alice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The nicest and most helpful host one can hope for; the guesthouse is very central, very clean and we had a very cosy room - just perfect for the last night before holiday was over! We even had a private parking spot.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cpicar_554494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeandAlice, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to give us a postive review. Alice and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Jays and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

George & Alice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The guest house was very easy to find, and parking was good (even though their private parking was temporarily not available because of road works). Greeted by George – very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to the seafront and restaurants. Comfortable night’s sleep and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ang01622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeandAlice, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home.

Regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

the owners where lovely and very helpful and friendly the car park was out of use this i under stand this is out of your control but it looks like it has been on going for a while and it could have been helpful to know about this in advance

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mbarne_253782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeandAlice, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your review, although I seems a little harsh to give us 3 stars for something as you rightly say, was outwith our control. Had you informed us that you wished to use the car park we would have indeed notified you of the current situation.
However for us to contact EVERY guest and inform them of the car park situation, is both unreasonable and impractical. For your one night stay, you availed yourself of the adjacent on street parking, of which there was plenty of space. I fail to see how you were unduly inconvenienced, by the situation.
For your information the car park was reopened a few days later.

Regards,

George and Alice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews