We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place and these people”
Review of St Olaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Olaf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Reviewed 20 October 2016

While I cannot say that the hotel is perfect, as it is a bit in need of updating, I will say with emphasis that it is perfect for a bunch of golfers. The small hotel with bar and dining onsite is the best type of accomodation for us. Perfect for a group of 8-10. The owners, long time, also operate a farm, and it is amazing how hard they work. Alison and Stuart always seem to be there, she in the AM serving omlettes, a nice change from the full Scottish, and him there as our waiter at dinner. While there are not many options in Cruden Bay, do not look down your nose at dinner at the St. Olaf's. The freshest of the fresh seafood, and while I do not know for sure, I think they may raise and serve some of their own meat and veg. Love Stuart's banter and spunk. We have stayed here many times as a golf group and have loved it every time. Walk to Cruden Bay Golf Club's first tee.

Room Tip: Pick one of two rooms with tremendous views of the course. Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rlseelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Spent two nights here on a nostalgic visit to an area I worked in 50 years ago. Very large and comfortable room with an outstanding view over the golf course to the sea. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfasts and dinners were very good albeit rather substantial portions. Hotel seems to be used more for its restaurant than accommodation trade and was very busy indeed on the Friday and Saturday nights we stayed but the bedroom and nights were peacefully quiet. .

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker01684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Used to eat at the St Olaf very regular and we're always neglected by unattentive staff and waited long periods of time for drinks and food to be served. Such a shame as food is delicious when you eventually get it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SDuncan2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Husband and I had dinner at the St Olaf, our favourite place to eat. Food is consistenly good and plentiful at the St Olaf. We have never had a disappointing meal here. Good, friendly service, good food and plenty of it and value for money. Can't ask for more than that!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnSS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Poor welcome - felt unwanted. Reflected in whole service
Had scampi snack box - scampi tasted like it came out a packet despite being in a lovely fishing community.
Dessert - warm chocolate brownies - were not warm in the slightest. But were rich and tasty.
Orange juice had with meal - served in a tiny wine glass - one mouthful sized.

Mum's meal was nice and a complete contrast to my own- fresh haddock - seemingly local and battered onsite
Banana split eaten by mum - she enjoyed but the dish was too small for it's contents and resulted in an embarrassing mess. Easily changed.

It's the little things.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allamo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
11.3 km away
Travelodge Peterhead
Travelodge Peterhead
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
23 reviews
7.7 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
204 reviews
11.3 km away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
183 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
251 reviews
16.5 km away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olaf Hotel

Address: Aulton Road | Cruden Bay, Peterhead AB42 0NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: RM 431 - RM 540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Olaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your St Olaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing