We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of St Olaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Olaf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic family meal as usual, Stuart and Angelo and Staff make sure that you are all well looked after and made very welcome.
The food is absolutely delicious and just a treat and we highly recommend the St Olaf to everyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amandajcruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Sorry it has taken so long to reply to you.
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to review on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We've visited the St Olaf regularly for years and the food has always been very good.

Staying fairly local it is our 'go-to' choice for an evening meal out but I would recommend booking. The dining rooms are fairly small and fill up quickly so phone in advance.

I always have the Fish and Chips which is straight from the market in Peterhead.

Another favourite of ours is the Beef Steak Pie which is a very generous portion.

Puddings are also good and there are always specials on offer.

I'm sure some of the decor hasn't changes in the last 15 years we've been visiting but it makes a homely setting with lots of local pictures, photographs and items from Cruden Bay's history.

We will certainly visit again :-)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rob23rbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are always pleased to see returning customers.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We had an excellent evening meal. Large portions beautifully cooked and excellent value for money. Food served by really friendly staff who are willing to chat and make you feel welcome. We will certainly return soon and will recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi
Glad you enjoyed your visit here to The St Olaf. Will be nice to see you again.
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
See you again
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Booked a table but arrived early which was not a problem as we were quickly seen to and seated . Great choices on the menu plus many more on the specials board. The food which we didn't have long to wait for was plentiful and very tasty . Attentive service and with a smile . Two courses each with a drink for under £50 was great value we will def be back !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mccue1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were visiting our daughter and her husband in Aberdeen and had taken a trip to visit Peterhead prison and New Slains Castle. We were looking for something hot after our exertions. We came across this venue by chance and were mighty glad we did. We managed to find several choices for our group, 3 veggies and a vegan. The person who served us seemed to be part of the management. The food was good and the standout dish was the potato soup, this does not sound much but my wife who had the soup is something of a soup expert!
I agree with other reviewers the dining area is in need of a little TLC but this is more than outweighed by the staff and quality of the food. One point they stop serving lunch at 2pm and that is written in stone, while we were there a group were turned away even though they had come by bus from Peterhead prison!
Access for less able diners is good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
11.3 km away
Travelodge Peterhead
Travelodge Peterhead
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
23 reviews
7.7 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
204 reviews
11.3 km away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
183 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
251 reviews
16.5 km away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olaf Hotel

Address: Aulton Road | Cruden Bay, Peterhead AB42 0NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: RM 431 - RM 540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Olaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your St Olaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing