We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Printworks(Peterhead)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Palace Hotel(Peterhead)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Rooms(Peterhead)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Travelodge Peterhead(Peterhead)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
38
24
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
24
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecruden baysticky toffee puddingspecials boardchicken marylandbooked a tableportions are largeseveral choicesslains castlecheese saucebeef steak pielocal arealovely mealfriesevening mealstuartmenu
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a table at the St Olaf, we had a few drinks in the bar before our table time, only to be advised that the kitchen was very busy and running behind.. we ordered and waited and waited...
Nearly an hour later we were told the kitchen had now caught up and our table was ready!!!
Food was ok, all fried and mostly bought in.
Not worth the wait really.
Would not return on a weekend,the kitchen staff cannot cope with more than3-4 tables at a time!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic family meal as usual, Stuart and Angelo and Staff make sure that you are all well looked after and made very welcome.
The food is absolutely delicious and just a treat and we highly recommend the St Olaf to everyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Amandajcruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Sorry it has taken so long to reply to you.
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to review on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We've visited the St Olaf regularly for years and the food has always been very good.

Staying fairly local it is our 'go-to' choice for an evening meal out but I would recommend booking. The dining rooms are fairly small and fill up quickly so phone in advance.

I always have the Fish and Chips which is straight from the market in Peterhead.

Another favourite of ours is the Beef Steak Pie which is a very generous portion.

Puddings are also good and there are always specials on offer.

I'm sure some of the decor hasn't changes in the last 15 years we've been visiting but it makes a homely setting with lots of local pictures, photographs and items from Cruden Bay's history.

We will certainly visit again :-)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rob23rbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are always pleased to see returning customers.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We had an excellent evening meal. Large portions beautifully cooked and excellent value for money. Food served by really friendly staff who are willing to chat and make you feel welcome. We will certainly return soon and will recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi
Glad you enjoyed your visit here to The St Olaf. Will be nice to see you again.
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
See you again
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Booked a table but arrived early which was not a problem as we were quickly seen to and seated . Great choices on the menu plus many more on the specials board. The food which we didn't have long to wait for was plentiful and very tasty . Attentive service and with a smile . Two courses each with a drink for under £50 was great value we will def be back !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mccue1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews