We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay and eat”
Review of St Olaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Olaf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a big, modern clean family room with large windows and fantastic panoramic views over golf course , sea and Slains castle. Room had everything you needed with sofa and table at window where you could enjoy the view.
Ate in restaurant which was mobbed on the Saturday but luckily had booked a table. Not only was service friendly but amazingly swift . Was a lovely atmosphere and obviously very popular with locals . That's because the food was fab.2 courses for 3 of us from steak to pasta with 4 alcoholic drinks and 2 cokes was around 60. Large portions too.
Great plentiful breakfast. Lovely people. The hotel is just a 12 min walk from beach and castle walk so a great location. No noise heard in our room despite busy public bar. Went with husband and son and already booked to take my mum in 2 weeks
As enjoyed it so much.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a table at the St Olaf, we had a few drinks in the bar before our table time, only to be advised that the kitchen was very busy and running behind.. we ordered and waited and waited...
Nearly an hour later we were told the kitchen had now caught up and our table was ready!!!
Food was ok, all fried and mostly bought in.
Not worth the wait really.
Would not return on a weekend,the kitchen staff cannot cope with more than3-4 tables at a time!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank myclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic family meal as usual, Stuart and Angelo and Staff make sure that you are all well looked after and made very welcome.
The food is absolutely delicious and just a treat and we highly recommend the St Olaf to everyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amandajcruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Sorry it has taken so long to reply to you.
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to review on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We've visited the St Olaf regularly for years and the food has always been very good.

Staying fairly local it is our 'go-to' choice for an evening meal out but I would recommend booking. The dining rooms are fairly small and fill up quickly so phone in advance.

I always have the Fish and Chips which is straight from the market in Peterhead.

Another favourite of ours is the Beef Steak Pie which is a very generous portion.

Puddings are also good and there are always specials on offer.

I'm sure some of the decor hasn't changes in the last 15 years we've been visiting but it makes a homely setting with lots of local pictures, photographs and items from Cruden Bay's history.

We will certainly visit again :-)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rob23rbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are always pleased to see returning customers.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We had an excellent evening meal. Large portions beautifully cooked and excellent value for money. Food served by really friendly staff who are willing to chat and make you feel welcome. We will certainly return soon and will recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison w, Owner at St Olaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi
Glad you enjoyed your visit here to The St Olaf. Will be nice to see you again.
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
See you again
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
7.7 km away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
200 reviews
11.3 km away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
51 reviews
11.3 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
27 km away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
257 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olaf Hotel

Address: Aulton Road | Cruden Bay, Peterhead AB42 0NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: RM388 - RM470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Olaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your St Olaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing