We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kinloch Arms Hotel(Carnoustie)
US$61
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corner Hotel(Carnoustie)
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
19th Hole Hotel(Carnoustie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Station Hotel(Carnoustie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
400
547
272
127
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
547
272
127
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiessteam rooman upgradelovely hoteldalhousie restaurantrelaxation roomfirst morningbirthday treata bit tiredcooked breakfastcarnoustie golf coursean overnight stayshort breakenjoyable staybroughty ferrychanging roomssea view
Filter
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2015

I booked 2 rooms here for my wife and me, and my sister. Hotel booking direct was a breeze. On arrival the checking in was efficiently handled. Our stay was very nice indeed and the bar staff were excellent for both serving drinks & food. Would I stay again. Have been here a few times now and will go back again.

Room Tip: You cab upgrade to a room overlooking the golf course, or the sea. Better than overlooking the car park, if that is important to you
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Thank you for posting your review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Got a deal with Hotel Connexions for an overnight stay & breakfast so off we went. Carnoustie as a village/town does not have a lot in it but being so near to Dundee & just a little further from St Andrew's it is well placed for places to visit during the day but not so much in the evening. Our deal included a bottle of wine which was a nice addition. The hotel is needing a refurb as most of it is very dated & tired. That said our room whilst a bit old fashioned had nice furniture which was not bashed or broken & a big superking sized bed. The en-suite was fine but again very dated. No bath just a shower although there was room enough for a bath & I suspect possibly years ago had one as the shower was a bit more modern that the rest of the décor. The room was clean & a decent size. The window overlooked the 1st & 18th greens as well as what could be a very busy & noisy patio area filled with tables & chairs for those wishing to watch the golf. Tea * coffee facilities in the room & toiletries. As it was a lovely afternoon we decided to redeem out wine & sit out in the patio area & watch the local golfers. Again this area needs the flagstones cleaned & a bit of weeding [a big bit] wouldn't go amiss. Nice & chilled hour outside until the weather suddenly turned. We all moved back into the bar area & there was quite a buzz. Unfortunately when the golfers go there was only the odd one or two residents inc us so atmosphere was dead. WE had been told that you were better to eat out of the hotel as you get better value for money. Having checked the restaurant menu it was far too expensive for what was offered as was the bar. WE decided to try the recommended 19th hole just down in the town literally 5 mins walk. Got completely soaked in the mad storm to be told there were not available tables all night! [note remember to book at weekends] soaked again walking back to the hotel we had no option but to eat in the empty bar. I ordered kedgeree with pea puree & curry cream & my hubbie asked what the catch of the day was. Wait for it......scampi & chips lol strange catch & on seeing & eating it definitely was caught in the local farmfoods or Iceland! Not the best quality & I have never seen frozen chips so big. Far too many totally unbalanced meal. My kedgeree had no pea puree & still looking for the curry cream, maybe they mixed it in who knows. Not the best more like wok fried rice with curry powder & boiled eggs mixed in. The small pieces of fish in it were cooked ok. Slightly on the small size for a price of £13, scampi coming it at £12 I think. Maybe we picked the wrongs things from the menu who knows but neither were very good. Drinks were priced as expected for a hotel. Bar & reception staff were all very nice & friendly but being so young did not seem to grasp the clearing of tables especially when we wished to eat at one was important! WE decided as it bar was so quite & lacking in atmosphere we would just take some drinks up to the room & watch TV. There seemed to be plenty of residents but I guess most ate out or in the restaurant. With the resident turn over & the revenue they must make from gold tournaments held there they don't seem to be spending much money on the fixtures & fittings or grounds of the hotel. All in all the hotel was ok & would stay again if I got a cheap deal but not eat there.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebbienGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Thank you for your comprehensive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

After reading some of the recent reviews we were a little apprehensive however can confidently say we enjoyed our overnight stay at the hotel on an itison deal - it was value for money from beginning to end. The hotel staff were friendly, professional and helpful from the moment we checked in. Our room was spacious with great views out over the golf course to the sea. The beds were comfy, the shower warm and powerful and towels fluffy & soft. The dinner in the restaurant was delicious and we would recommend a visit. The only negative was the changing rooms for the pool, sauna and steam room - they are a little tired and would benefit from a facelift. Overall it's a very nice hotel in a great location if you are a golfer - if you're not a golfer just remember Carnoustie is a very small village - beautiful but small.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie_Delta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Thank you for posting your comments, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We booked 2 nights through an itison deal which was great value. The staff were excellent from reception to the bar to the restaurant - great service all round. The rooms were OK but do need a bit of a facelift/renovation, however, the views over the course from our room were outstanding!.
Food in the restaurant was very good and the golf facilities (as you would expect) were excellent, my daughter really liked the free little 6 hole course for kids (the Nestie).
The free Wifi was also a bonus
I'll definitely go back - particularly if I get another deal.

Room Tip: anything overlooking the golf courses
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TurkT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Thank you for your review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Only stayed one night but everything was fine. Quick check in and into room within minutes. Great view of golf course and the weather was great so a brilliant sunset view, not always the case in Scotland !!. The room and en-suite were a good size and we were in a renovated room so it was fine.Breakfast was served by helpful friendly staff with plenty of selection. Room lacked a safe and fridge and no socket near the mirror for ladies drying their hair, my wife always says these things are designed by men but apart from that we will be happy to return.

Room Tip: higher floors overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gasman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Thank you for your comments which we appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews