We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Hotel(Montrose)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapel House B&B(Montrose)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven(Montrose)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hillside Hotel(Montrose)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamse B&B(Montrose)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
52
58
19
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
58
19
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf portionlarge portionsbeautiful roomreal alebe returning in the futuremy partnerburgerold buildingfamily mealmain courseextensive menuside saladsingle rooman evening mealwaiting staffmusic festivalfood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Lovely time spent here, friendly staff, breakfast cant be faulted. Spacious rooms with suitable en suite toilet and shower. Complimentary tea/ coffee and biscuits was helpful.
Easy access, free parking

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeHotelMontrose, Reception at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. A very good experience, clean bright room, huge comfortable bed, newly refurbished bathroom, helpful pleasant staff and great breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeHotelMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in for lunch as saw in Beer Guide it is a Cask Marque pub for real ale. Disappointed that there were no real ales available hence average rating. Chose food from very extensive menu. Food arrived quickly and was large portion and tasty enough. However once food arrived the bar staff disappeared into the kitchen so ordering further drinks and finally getting bill very slow, not just for us - other diners stood at bar puzzled how to attracted attention to order desserts.
Just a general comment that the the height of the tables in the booths seemed to be just a little too high to eat comfortably.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank towniegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeHotelMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am surprised that we did not have any real ale available at the time of your visit as we rotate between Deuchars Ipa & Timothy Taylor Landlord, ensuring that there is one ready to follow the other at all times so that when we are required to change over we can do so quickly and effectively to ensure we have one cask available at all times.

It is concerning that you felt the staff member on duty disappeared into the kitchen after your meal being served as they would normally remain in the bar area unless they are collecting food from the Chef's or returning dishes to the kitchen. The staff are very customer focused and are very proactive with the customers ensuring that they are served promptly.

We do have alternative tables available if your preference is not to sit at one of the booths.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Thank you for our beautiful room and comfortable stay at your lovely hotel. First class service, from the moment of arrival and nothing seemed like any trouble for your team. #TopClass Food was amazing and of course a wee pint or two always goes down well

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank 2011bob2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeHotelMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We certainly try to ensure that we go the extra mile for our customers when and where we can. We hope to see you back
at the George on your next visit to Montrose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We were out for the day and called into The George for lunch, the menu is quite extensive and varied
We decided to have a good lunch to save cooking at night, I had a George burger and side salad with chips and my wife had Chicken Maryland, both meals were very large portions.
My burger was made up of two burgers with bacon between and on top with cheese and salads
My wifes maryland was huge and really a mans portion not a womans, we both ate what we could and enjoyed every mouthfull.
Very attentive and polite staff and for the size of meal excellent value for money, we will deffinately use again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Forfarian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeHotelMontrose, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor, it is always a pleasure to have such a great! accolade for our food. On your behalf I will thank my Chefs and waiting staff, much appreciated. Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews