We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oban B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #3 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderfully restored old mansion up the hill in Oban above the harbor. Views are fabulous, rooms are large, en-suite, with great comfortable beds and lovely towel warmers in the bathroom, fast WiFi, amazing cooked to order breakfast served by the proprietor’s very friendly and personable husband. The only thing one could possibly “complain” about is that the roads leading to the house are exceedingly narrow, but that’s Oban generally, not this B&B specifically. Easy walk down to the main drag for restaurants and pubs and Oban Distillery (all about 1/4 mike, though walk back up hill requires a bit more effort).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mmrhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This place is simply perfect, nice cozy room (we had the n.5) with a really comfortable bed and a breathtaking view, excellent breakfast, And the owners are very nice and helpful, they gave us plenty of good advice!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My husband and I stayed in room 1 for one night. The room is on the first floor at the front of the house and has an amazing view! Binoculars are even provided. The room is large and very comfortable. Williams is a friendly, knowledgeable host. Parking is tricky, but my husband managed even with the Mercedes the rental company upgraded us to, which really wasn't doing us any favors! Yes, it is an uphill climb from town, but the view is worth it.

Room Tip: Room one in the front of the house is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and thought it was excellent. It has a fantastic location with terrific views over Oban Bay. It is clean, nicely decorated, comfortable with very attentive hosts. The breakfast was good quality and plentiful and the dining room is lovely having the great bay views. The walk into town is just a few minutes however the walk back up the hill whilst short could be challenging to those who don't like hills as if us steep.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights as we were on a Rabbies Tour (I chose our own accommodation due to the great reviews on TA) Happy with our large double room and the view from the massive front facing bay window was truly amazing.
I just sat there for ages and couldn't get enough of the view. There is a steep climb to the guest house but worth it and once you are down the hill you are in a very central location.
Oban is a beautiful place and a lot bigger and wealthier than a fishing village that i was expecting.
Breakfast was delicious both mornings and William was a great host. Would definitely stay again if we are ever back in Oban.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
1 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0.8 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: RM300 - RM410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing