We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #3 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Along with my sister I spent four nights at Dunheanish Guest House in October 2017. The rooms were comfortable and spotless and had everything that we needed (including sweets), breakfast was delicious and cooked to order (upon mentioning her desire to try Black Pudding it appeared on my sister's breakfast plate the next morning!) and William and Linda could not have been nicer. The house is lovely and has been well kept, you'll want for nothing during your stay.
Being up on a hill the views from the house over the harbour are incredible. Binoculars are even in the room to better enjoy the view. The only drawback to that hill is that if you are traveling without a car as we did the hike up it at the end of the day is a doozy, but is good exercise ;-) And you can always stop halfway up to catch your breath and say that you're admiring the view. Or if you're lucky the artist that lives along the road will have her studio open during your visit and you can pop in to look at her wares and buy a print to take home like we did.
Oban is a joy to explore on foot. We walked along the harbour and also down to Dunollie Castle for an enjoyable afternoon, we took the ferry over to Mull and to Duart Castle (a gentleman at the ferry office was kind enough to arrange a driver to transport us between the ferry and castle as it was off season) and enjoyed many of the shops and restaurants in town. The fondue at Oban Chocolate was especially delicious (but try to get there during a not so busy time to avoid the line).
All in all it was a wonderful stay at Dunheanish House and a pleasure to explore Oban.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a fantastic view over the rooftops and to the harbour, room 6 is cozier and has a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebefordreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying with William at his gorgeously appointed guesthouse overlooking the Oban bay for two nights. Nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was amazing and the welcome was warm and engaging. The room was beautifully decorated and equipped with a four poster bed and a view to die for. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Dunheanish.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderfully restored old mansion up the hill in Oban above the harbor. Views are fabulous, rooms are large, en-suite, with great comfortable beds and lovely towel warmers in the bathroom, fast WiFi, amazing cooked to order breakfast served by the proprietor’s very friendly and personable husband. The only thing one could possibly “complain” about is that the roads leading to the house are exceedingly narrow, but that’s Oban generally, not this B&B specifically. Easy walk down to the main drag for restaurants and pubs and Oban Distillery (all about 1/4 mike, though walk back up hill requires a bit more effort).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mmrhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This place is simply perfect, nice cozy room (we had the n.5) with a really comfortable bed and a breathtaking view, excellent breakfast, And the owners are very nice and helpful, they gave us plenty of good advice!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My husband and I stayed in room 1 for one night. The room is on the first floor at the front of the house and has an amazing view! Binoculars are even provided. The room is large and very comfortable. Williams is a friendly, knowledgeable host. Parking is tricky, but my husband managed even with the Mercedes the rental company upgraded us to, which really wasn't doing us any favors! Yes, it is an uphill climb from town, but the view is worth it.

Room Tip: Room one in the front of the house is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
0.3 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
1 km away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: RM302 - RM411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing