We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
143
142
83
62
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
142
83
62
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland heritage coach driver ian cleaver coach holiday sea view coach parties long journey evening entertainment seil island breakfast and dinner lovely position biscuits bar prices oban bay twin beds haggis single room
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This was a short (5 day) break with Highland Heritage and from beginning to end I could not fault the friendliness and efficiency of the staff - particularly in the hotel, but also the coach driver (Gavin). Nothing was too much trouble for them and the meals were all tasty and quickly served, despite a very full dining room. It was a very low cost holiday but the standard certainly exceeded my expectations.

Room tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a sea view room.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dottyj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Just returned from a five day trip to the Alexander Hotel in Oban .The hotel and staff were very good nothing seemed too much trouble for them and we had a lovely room and we also saw some of the other rooms as our friends stayed there as well. We travelled with the Highland Heritage coach company and we had a great tour driver called Gavin who had great knowledge of the area. The staff could turn there hand to any job and were lead by a wonderful manageress.

Date of stay: March 2017
2  Thank kenny5539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is a very tired hotel and certainly does have the Scottish experience. I was expecting Scottish accents, Scottish décor and Scottish hospitality. During the day, you can't contact staff, bars are not open and if you need to phone for assistance during the night you will have to use your own phone as no phones in the room. No blind or curtains at the bathroom window so all car drivers can see your silhouette whilst driving along the road if your room is on the side as mine was. This is one to miss.

Date of stay: December 2016
3  Thank Linc0lnYell0wBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

This is a strange review because it was actually my parents who stayed here, and they loved it, the food was great, the trips good value, and the entertainment was good.
I was staying at another hotel a few doors down but was allowed to spend the evening with my parents, as they enjoyed the entertainment there. And were staying there for 4 days with the turkey and tinsel trip from highland heritage. I must admit it was really good and can see why they enjoyed it there. Aside from personally vouching for the drinks in the bar ( which were well priced ) the staff were excellent the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DavieboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hi DavieboyScotland, glad your parents enjoyed the stay, we also offer private Apartments at the rear of the hotel (Alexandra Apartments) Thanks for taking time to review us, have a brilliant 2017 and hope to see you all back again soon!!! All the best from the HH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed last week's turkey and tincel holiday .... the only downside was the bus driver we had was pretty flat .not sure why but when I came to ben doran in Sept he was a lot better with a Moor friendly approach which we enjoyed a lot.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 126cheryl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Herit, Public Relations Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hi 126cheryl126

Many thanks for the review, glad you had a great stay, please come back and visit us all again soon! All the best for 2017 - HH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews