We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveller rating
286
437
291
124
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
437
291
124
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view north pier breakfast was buffet style third floor sitting area oban distillery central location bit dated top floor family room large room fantastic location lovely view dining room ferry terminal isle of mull stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel, would have loved to have stayed there in its heyday. Showing it’s age a wee bit these days with both rooms and corridors in need of a refresh.

Lots of tartan. Everywhere.

Mattress was a bit thin and when I enquired if it was possible to have some vegetarian sausages with breakfast the member of staff look horrified and told me the hotel would be notified well in advance to procure such rare and mysterious items!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank TunaStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Great central location. 1st time I stayed here based on searching available offers and glad I did so. More parking option than along esplanade now there are double yellow lines there. Rooms comfy and victorian lift a novelty. Special mention to the young gentleman on Tuesday organising the breakfasts. Came down to find main room full and he quickly put us up in overflow dining room, moving my paper and iPad as well, then coming back regularly to check-in on us. Top class service !
I gave 5 star for value but rates vary.

Room tip: If heavy luggage try to get a place near the lift and ask for help with the few steps up/down between
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stay105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This is an older, charming seaside hotel. I loved the Victorian lift; the sweet sitting room and the location. We dined at a very lovely seafood restaurant just across the parking lot. Bathroom a little dated; everything was clean, tidy and I quite honestly loved the place. Breakfast was incredible...black pudding, poached eggs, coffee to die for, and all located on the North Pier...views day and night (I woke up and the city was quiet, but what a lovely view from the tower room we got).

Room tip: Ask for the tower room on the third floor.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cynschmidt124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

we stayed at the Columba Hotel in Oban , Argyll, Scotland this weekend . The staff were so welcoming and could not do enough for you. Our room was clean ,warm and comfortable .The food was of good quality well cooked and presented well ,Price was reasonable for Oban and staff in both Bar Rio & Lounge of Columba Hotel . The hotel is a beautiful Victorian building which has been well maintained and is clean and very comfortable.Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank shirleylenehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We picked this hotel as a stop-over before heading to Luing the next morning. The place is badly in need of a refurbishment. The rooms are dated, heaters are old and the TV looks like it’s from the 90s!

Also, when we tried to open the room window but this couldn’t be done and there was a lot of condensation in the morning which obscured the view. This is something that we feel needs to be sorted before the windows start to rot.

However, the location of hotel is excellent and we had a nice view of McCaigs tower from our room (when we could see out the window – before the condensation).

The breakfast was good with a nice selection, although they kept running out of things, and overall our stay was adequate for a quick stopover.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews