We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,037 results
Traveller rating
534
636
471
232
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
636
471
232
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub oban bay spa facilities crerar hotels steam room set menu easy breaks waiting staff restaurant staff stornoway black pudding short break breakfast and dinner night break sea view bed and breakfast lovely view a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 2,037 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed there recently for a short two night stay. Overall I did enjoy my stay but I feel the prices they are charging for overnight accommodation is playing on the Crerar name. This hotel is in dire need of a major refurbishment. The seating in the lounge area is very worn, with the stuffing in the chairs and couches literally showing through the holes. You have to walk through the spa area to get to a lot of the bedrooms and this area is very often soaking wet due to guests walking about from sauna/steam area to the outdoor hot tub area. The carpeting throughout the hotel is very worn and badly stained. The one great thing about this hotel is the restaurant/bar staff, they are very friendly and helpful. I won't be going back to this hotel until they have had a refurb.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mmcf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear mmcf19,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Oban Bay Hotel.

I'm glad that you found our staff to be helpful. We get many positive comments about our team and the food that we serve in the hotel.

Our prices are based on our position in the local market, but I am sorry if some elements of the hotel do not meet your expectations. We have a constant programme of maintenance and refurbishment but this slows down at certain times of the year when we are extremely busy.

I am grateful though for your feedback since it allows us to review the service that we provide our guests.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

great wee hotel with good clean beds ,great food and excellent or above excellent staff!...what a lovely wee hotel....good for you oban bay hotel!!!! you have shown that biggest is not always best. Thankyou for a great stay!!

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Jose M,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm glad that you had such a good stay and I hope you enjoyed Oban too.

Hopefully you'll come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Three star rating is generous.Like a number of hotels in Oban it might be best to pull it down and start again
It is the worst hotel we have stayed in for some time.
There are numerous complaints
There is no lift to floor 2
The bed is uncomfortable.The pillows are old and lumpy and the bathroom with a shower curtain is awful
The room is small and you need to bend down to get out of bed
This is all for Stlg 150 per night
The restaurant for both dinner and breakfast has memories of the 70's
The only redeeming feature is the bar /lounge at the front for its view certainly not its comfort,service or quality of drinks
Come on Scotland you need to do better in a tourist destination for international travellers.Have a look at what the hotels in Asia are doing as a reference point That is the way the world is going

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 871janetll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear JanetL L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am always grateful for feedback, since it allows us to review the service that we provide to our guests. In that respect, we spend a lot of time thinking about what our guests want.

Your review seems to be aimed not only at our hotel, but at those of others in Oban, and I'm sure they would be disappointed by your comments too.

Our hotel in particular gets many positive comments about the service from our staff and the excellent food that we serve. Your opinion may differ, and that's perfectly acceptable, but to pull the hotel down and start again seems a bit extreme, and would no doubt spoil it for the other guests who do enjoy what we do.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Firstly we had a great meal here, we were on a package deal that no longer existed however the staff accommodated us to what we originally booked. The surf and turf was amazing, one of the best steaks we've ever had!
However the hotel itself was very tired looking and basic for what we payed. Could definitely do with a make over.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dafty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Dafty19,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the food. We get lots of positive comments about our menus and our Head Chef, Steven, will be delighted.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel for dinner, bed, breakfast & spa with friend. We both love Oban. Hotel had an amazing view of the bay. Easy access to shops. Dinner was fantastic. Massage was good. Loved the hot tub even when it started raining. Need to watch steam room & sauna area as there is no water available. Would recommend a stay in this hotel though

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank mrose1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear mrose1973,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at the Oban Bay Hotel.

I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable break for your birthday. We love to help people celebrate. Hopefully you can come gain for the next big event.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews