We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
471
283
119
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
283
119
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked eggs no lift metro hotel compact room grand room modern hotel small kitchen great wee hotel third floor ferry terminal central location haggis smoked salmon breakfast room car park stayed for one night comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Oban is a nice place to rest your feet overnight as you drive up north to Skye. The location is right in town so you can just walk to everywhere, however parking can be a bit challenging. We found parking space right in front of the hotel on a Sunday but left early the following morning by 9. The hotel is small, particularly the reception and breakfast room. Our room was of a good size, but overall the hotel lacks charm that can be found in the many B&B in this town. Wifi did not work in our room but worked well in the reception area downstairs. Once again, we found that one member of the staff (Lucy) was very accommodating and made all the difference in our stay (we needed to have access to the internet and there was no access in our room). Overall the hotel has its advantages if you can find a good offer here but be sure to shop around first.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us at The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback, whether it's negative or poitive as there is always room for improvement.

We are glad that you found the Hotel to be in a good location and that you were happy with your room size. We are sorry that you struggled with parking, sadly the hotel owns no parking spaces however in order to help combat this downfall we do recommend various parking places within the town to our guests, in hope that they find somewhere.

We are also sorry to see that the wifi didn't work in your room - we shall be sure to look into this issue and aim to resolve it as quickly as possible.

Finally, we are very happy to hear that Lucy made a lasting impact in your stay and that she was very accommodating to your needs - we shall be sure to pass your praises onto her.

We do hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future,

Many thanks
The Ranald Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Having just returned from a three night stay in the Ranald Hotel Oban had to come on here to praise this great wee hotel and more so the staff from the moment wee arrived till we checked out first class service,room was spotlessly clean also bar come dining area spotless. Although not huge room it was well planned to use the space available well,the breakfast choice was great although no fry ups what was there was plentiful and varied and fresh, will certainly be back.

Room tip: Ground floor if you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robertlang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Ranald Hotel.

We take all feedback on board whether it's positive or negative as there is always room for improvement.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us from start to finish and that you were happy with our selection of breakfast choices.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Many thanks,

The Ranald Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Booked hotels months ago.
Booked in high season. Hotel very well located. Walking distance to everything.

The problem was there wasn’t enough bed for my 9 year old!

After that hotel, was dirty specially the carpets and wall with drink spilled all over. In and out the room.

Bed weren’t comfortable.

I wouldn’t recommend to any of my friends. Sorry!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mike6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Ranald Hotel.

We take all feedback on board whether it's positive or negative as there is always room for improvement.

I have to apologise regarding the bed space. We try recommending one of our Grand Plus rooms which is slightly larger than the rest of the rooms to ensure there is plenty of space for everyone. We are very flexible with swapping rooms around to satisfy our guests. We hope you brought this to our attention in order for us to rectify the issue for you.

With regards to the carpets, I will have to get to the bottom of who was on that date to prevent this from happening again.

We hope if you are in the area again to pop in and give us another try.

The Ranald Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed just one night before ferry over to Mull. Loved our 3rd floor room (we were well aware we’d have to carry our bags up the stairs). The bed was very comfy and we loved the power shower, and big fluffy towels. It was the crazy hot weather in July and we ended up sleeping with the window open, which was fine on 3rd floor. Nice helpful staff at checkin and checkout. We loved the breakfast. I was sad, as no pancakes left, but the yogurt and muesli, and delicious toasted bread and jam more than made up for it. In fact the receptionist was very helpful, actually showing me the loaf in the bag when I asked what brand the bread was. All the staff were super helpful when we encountered them. My husband was sooo happy with his baked eggs, raved about them to everyone when we got home. Location was very convenient for everything, so we would definitely stay again when in town.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Blubuggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you for the overwhelming 5* review!

I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I will be sure to pass all your lovely comments onto the staff.

The breakfast baked eggs that we have to offer is a winner all round! It's a very unusual dish but tastes incredible (especially with the haggis).

We hope to see you again soon.

The Ranald Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We were staying one night in Oban on our road trip adventure, and booked a room at The Ranald Hotel. The hotel is located right in the heart of Oban and only a few minutes walk to the water. Everything you need is within walking distance!

Parking for the hotel is a bit tricky-- we were very fortunate to find a rather tight spot on the street directly across from the hotel entrance. Upon check-in we asked where we should park, and we were told that we could stay on the street, and that it was “pay parking” until 6pm, and again in the morning (time depended on the day of week). Check in was done right in the ‘bar’ of the hotel, which doubles as the reception desk. All the staff we encountered during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful.

As with many European accommodations, there is no elevator in the hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor so we burned a few calories carrying our luggage upstairs, and were pleasantly surprised when we opened the hotel room door.
Even wIth a family of 4, we had plenty of room for all of us! They had set up the room as 4 separate beds-- 2 twins (which I assume are sometimes a king) one cot, and one pull-out sofa. The sofa was even set up and ready for my son to sleep in. Everything was spotless.
After going out for dinner, we walked around Oban and then returned to the hotel. My husband and I got a drink at the bar and took it up to our room. The bartender was friendly and patient as my husband inquired about the variety of whisky they had before deciding what he wanted.

The beds were comfortable and we all slept well. In the morning there is a lovely breakfast downstairs in the bar area. There were ‘cold’ items on the bar itself (cereal, yogurt, etc) and there is a menu to order hot breakfast. The hotel does not have a large kitchen, so they have a limited, but amazing, hot breakfast offering. Let me tell you -- the Baked Eggs were absolutely delicious! ... a mini-cheesey-souffle-omelette kind of delicacy... I had mine with smoked salmon and my daughter ordered one with ham. They even had gluten free bread for me.

Check out was as easy as check-in, although we wished we could have stayed another night. The Ranald Hotel is a beautiful little gem of a place in Oban, and we definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seneruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve further.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and rated it as 5*.

Our bar offers a great amount of whisky to choose from and i am gad your husband found one that suited his taste! We get many compliments on our unique but delicious breakfasts so i am very glad you enjoyed it!

We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews