We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We could have stayed forever”
other travellers have booked this property
Private driveway approaching the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house Large garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house
Large garden room
Garden room with Gazebo / hot tub outside
Dining room from the hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen with door through to garden room
Rear of the house
Gardens looking back to the house
Double bedroom
Dining room
Garden room
Hallway
En suite bedroom
Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Bedroom with king size bed
Double bedroom
Sitting room with open fire
Dining room
Outdoor hot tub
Our BBQ 'Hobbit' house!
View to the house in winter
View from the ponds to Border countryside
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawick, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A L
Europe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We could have stayed forever”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

If we could, we would go back to Branxholm Knowe in a heartbeat. It is such a friendly, comfortable and welcoming country house in a picturesque setting. Bags of room for a big party; we had 5 couples and a baby and we had plenty of space. The huge gorgeous conservatory easily accommodates a large party; the log burner is wonderful to sit round on a cold winters evening and the views from the windows are delightful - one never tires of watching the birds. The bedrooms and bathrooms are big, well appointed and welcoming. The dining room is a great size for a large family and has an open fire - delightful. The sitting room (also with open fire) is a lovely quiet place to sit and read or settle children before bedtime. The kitchen is big, well equipped and copes well with everyone milling around. The downstairs shower room and toilet was appreciated. Outside there is a big garden which in winter is obviously subdued, but I am sure that in spring and summer the gardens are delightful. Although we didn't use it, the purpose built 'indoor' BBQ area is fabulous as is the hot tub which was much used by the braver members of our family on January evenings :-)

All in all I would recommend this country home to anyone. It is a truly charming house. It really feels like a home - strangely all members of our party felt like we 'belonged' there. A rare thing to feel in a house one has rented for a holiday. The owners are so welcoming. And you can feel that there has been much happiness in the house. It was such a pleasure to be there.

Thank you again. And sorry this review is so late - unavoidably delayed - but better late than never.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge conservatory
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you all had a lovely time and enjoyed our house. We would love to welcome you back again - perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can use the hot tub a bit more! Kind regards, Ian & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind review - I am pleased you all had a super week at Branxholm Knowe. The conservatory is indeed a very special place and it is all too easy to while away the afternoon relaxing on one of the sofas next to the fire! We have indeed just completed the installation of the hot tub and BBQ house which both look very inviting - you will have to come back and sample them both! Kind regards, Ian, Sally & Isobel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and space
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
I am delighted you all had a lovely week at Branxholm Knowe. We too enjoy disappearing to the various rooms in the house but our children always seem to locate us far too quickly! We hope you manage to make it back for longer next time! Kind regards, Ian & Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank for your glowing review. Great to hear you all had a lovely week at Branxholm Knowe. We think the house is a special place and love the gardens and space! Our new outdoor hot tub and Finnish grillkota BBQ house will be up and running for 2015 - a great excuse to come back and visit! Kind regards, Ian & Sally.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loads of space
Liked least: Too many personal family items, photos etc on display.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Branxholm Knowe. I am pleased you enjoyed your week albeit with a little bit of Scottish rain! We do hope you return! Kind regards, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$405
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing