We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage in the heart of Melrose”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bow Cottage

The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bow Cottage Living room & dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bow Cottage
Living room & dining area
Spacious and bright living room
Well equipped and bright kitchen
Bathroom with walk-in shower
Front Door
Welcome tray
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Melrose Abbey
The Eildon Hills as seen from Scott's View viewpoint
The River Tweed
View across to Melrose and the Eildon Hills from Gattonside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage in the heart of Melrose”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely cottage and a delicious cake to welcome us. Very well equipped with everything you could need. One of the most comfortable beds we have found in self catering accommodation. Location is fantastic - right in the centre of Melrose. We were there for the Borders Book Festival so everything was in walking distance. Louise was very helpful with a couple of questions before our stay. Would definitely recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - and very well equipped
Liked least: Limited outdoor space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
156lolly
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed here May 3rd for 5 nights with my husband, in laws and my dog, had read the reviews, and everything was as I had read. The cottage was lovely and clean very well equipped, great location, and yes a lovely cake waiting for us. It was a great base for sightseeing with so many lovely places to visit close by. Would definitely return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely the cottage was
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex d
Millport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little Cottage with everything you need and more.”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great little cottage in the middle of Melrose. Although it is in the middle of Melrose it is really quiet and peaceful, with no hassle. The Cottage has everything you will need plus lot's more like Wifi, electric blankets, gas central heating and plenty more, we will be back that's for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was brilliant.
Liked least: Parking was a bit awkford.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneGolb...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very welcoming owner”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

From my first contact with Louise (the owner) via Airbnb, the whole process of booking was made very easy. Although we were not able to meet Louise, I exchanged a few messages with her and she was extremely helpful and welcoming. The cottage is lovely, very comfortable and clean and very central to the town. Cannot recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owner.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with all amenities”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend Hilary booked Bow Cottage for us to stay during the Book Festival. What a lovely cottage, so central - easy walking distance to shops, Melrose Abbey, river walks. I had no idea that the Borders area was so beautiful and will certainly return, if not in 2015, then certainly in 2016. The cottage is cosy, well appointed, comfy beds, everything you could wish for. We did a lot of sightseeing by car and also walking and although keen cooks, would also recommend the Indian carry-out just two streets away - yummy - the best we've had in a long time. Well done Louise, we would thoroughly recommend Bow Cottage and, thank you very much for the cake, croissants and free range eggs - a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cottage in central location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, Im glad you were happy at Bow Cottage, and enjoyed the Book Festival. Im so sorry I never got the chance to meet up with yourself and Hilary and I hope I see you back for the Book Festival next year. Glad you enjoyed the cake!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing