We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barr Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glenlossie Guest House(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dumfries Villa(Dumfries)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenaldor House(Dumfries)
US$100
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpark House(Locharbriggs)
US$98
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivendell B&B(Dumfries)
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
58
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalexcellent hospitalitygreat hostsorlaroy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Thank you Roy and Orla for making our holiday better than we could have imagined.
Very warm welcome (with GOOD scones), great people to talk to, nice accomodation with plenty of space in the living room, makes you feel at home right away, though so far from home. We'll definitely be back!
Een echte aanrader voor wie in de streek is, zeer gastvrije mensen die echt met je praten, en nog plezante mensen ook! Qua accomodatie kom je niks tekort, en om uit eten te gaan is er keuze genoeg en en dichtbij.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay; beds comfy, scones perfect, brekky fresh and the property and puppies very picturesque. The couple here were so hospitable. A great spot to stay. This B&B is a bit off the beaten track but was perfect for us

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We stayed at the Barr Farmhouse for six nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Roy and Orla are two of the most hospitality host and hostess we have ever met. When we arrived, we were treated with a genuine Scottish Tea with great cakes. Throughout our six day visit, Roy and Orla spent many hours talking with us about Sottish history, their family, and their experiences living in Scotland, England, and Ireland (Orla). They are also good listeners. Did we mention that the food was great. Not only was the food great but the service was superb.
I also should mention that my wife and I were traveling with our special needs daughter, Letitia. Roy and Orla were so kiind to our daughter and made her feel like a member of their family. Their kindness to our daughter was a true blessing that we will always cherish. - Hudy, Patty, & Letitia Bowlin - Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our second visit to Barr Farmhouse, we absolutely love this gem of a B&B, we did not want to leave! Roy was the perfect host, greeting us with a warm welcome and home bakes and we could have chatted into the small wee hours as he is such a charismatic and interesting person. Breakfast on both mornings was divine, we highly recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon (out of this world!) and the porridge with whiskey (never tasted porridge like it). The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate, private bathroom is delightfully decorated. Dear Orla, sorry we missed you this time, as we were looking forward to seeing you again, your home made bread was delicious as always and next time we look forward to seeing you both. We cannot recommend enough this outstanding B&B. Beautiful location and beautiful hosts!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ChrisRhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Barr Farmhouse for one night, but soon after arriving, wished
it could have been for longer!
The amount of times my jaw dropped and the words "oh, I LOVE that" came out my mouth... Lol. It was just the best experience and at a very affordable price! We just loved it all. The place, food, hospitality, was just First Class. We were nearly late for our Workshop (our reason for being in Dumfries) as we were happily chatting to Roy!! They have created something VERY special here, and I for one, will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaandHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews