We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable hospitality in Dumfries”
Review of Barr Farmhouse

Barr Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barr Farmhouse
Ranked #22 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We were lucky enough to stay with Roy and Orla for 5 days in May, and the only bad thing was having to leave! They were so welcoming from the moment we arrived with tea and cakes (don't miss the shortbread), breakfasts were delicious and relaxing with time to chat. Our room was immaculate, bathroom nearby, and lots of treats - I'm not going to spoil the surprises! Wifi worked perfectly.They have two lovely friendly dogs but you'd scarcely be aware of them. There's plenty to explore in the area and good eateries in Dumfries on which Roy and Orla will gladly help with advice. They gave us such a lovely relaxing break and we can't wait to return.
Anne and James (London)

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms (upstairs), each with it's separate bathroom (one upstairs, one downstairs). A...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank annepage41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Barr Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2015

Roy and Orla made us really welcome. Breakfast is excellent, fruit salad and cooked breakfast + Orla's special bread and loads of other options to choose from. The first challenge on arrival is the tea (or coffee) and cake all yummy.
Bed was really comfy and there is plenty of room in the downstairs lounge to relax.
One thing to note, which did not bother us, is that the bathroom is private but not en suite.
Both Roy and Orla are very informative on local attractions and there is also a folder provided giving information and routes to the attractions and local eateries.
A lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Thank you Roy and Orla for making our holiday better than we could have imagined.
Very warm welcome (with GOOD scones), great people to talk to, nice accomodation with plenty of space in the living room, makes you feel at home right away, though so far from home. We'll definitely be back!
Een echte aanrader voor wie in de streek is, zeer gastvrije mensen die echt met je praten, en nog plezante mensen ook! Qua accomodatie kom je niks tekort, en om uit eten te gaan is er keuze genoeg en en dichtbij.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay; beds comfy, scones perfect, brekky fresh and the property and puppies very picturesque. The couple here were so hospitable. A great spot to stay. This B&B is a bit off the beaten track but was perfect for us

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We stayed at the Barr Farmhouse for six nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Roy and Orla are two of the most hospitality host and hostess we have ever met. When we arrived, we were treated with a genuine Scottish Tea with great cakes. Throughout our six day visit, Roy and Orla spent many hours talking with us about Sottish history, their family, and their experiences living in Scotland, England, and Ireland (Orla). They are also good listeners. Did we mention that the food was great. Not only was the food great but the service was superb.
I also should mention that my wife and I were traveling with our special needs daughter, Letitia. Roy and Orla were so kiind to our daughter and made her feel like a member of their family. Their kindness to our daughter was a true blessing that we will always cherish. - Hudy, Patty, & Letitia Bowlin - Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
45.7 km away
Southpark House
Southpark House
#1 of 2 in Locharbriggs
125 reviews
42.7 km away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
383 reviews
43.1 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.0 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
42.4 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
42.2 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barr Farmhouse

Address: Barr Farmhouse The Barr, Dumfries DG1 3LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: RM487 - RM1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Barr Farmhouse Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing