We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Glenlossie Guest House(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivendell B&B(Dumfries)
US$94
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpark House(Locharbriggs)
US$101
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferintosh Guest House(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
58
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Roy and Orla made us really welcome. Breakfast is excellent, fruit salad and cooked breakfast + Orla's special bread and loads of other options to choose from. The first challenge on arrival is the tea (or coffee) and cake all yummy.
Bed was really comfy and there is plenty of room in the downstairs lounge to relax.
One thing to note, which did not bother us, is that the bathroom is private but not en suite.
Both Roy and Orla are very informative on local attractions and there is also a folder provided giving information and routes to the attractions and local eateries.
A lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Thank you Roy and Orla for making our holiday better than we could have imagined.
Very warm welcome (with GOOD scones), great people to talk to, nice accomodation with plenty of space in the living room, makes you feel at home right away, though so far from home. We'll definitely be back!
Een echte aanrader voor wie in de streek is, zeer gastvrije mensen die echt met je praten, en nog plezante mensen ook! Qua accomodatie kom je niks tekort, en om uit eten te gaan is er keuze genoeg en en dichtbij.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay; beds comfy, scones perfect, brekky fresh and the property and puppies very picturesque. The couple here were so hospitable. A great spot to stay. This B&B is a bit off the beaten track but was perfect for us

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We stayed at the Barr Farmhouse for six nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Roy and Orla are two of the most hospitality host and hostess we have ever met. When we arrived, we were treated with a genuine Scottish Tea with great cakes. Throughout our six day visit, Roy and Orla spent many hours talking with us about Sottish history, their family, and their experiences living in Scotland, England, and Ireland (Orla). They are also good listeners. Did we mention that the food was great. Not only was the food great but the service was superb.
I also should mention that my wife and I were traveling with our special needs daughter, Letitia. Roy and Orla were so kiind to our daughter and made her feel like a member of their family. Their kindness to our daughter was a true blessing that we will always cherish. - Hudy, Patty, & Letitia Bowlin - Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our second visit to Barr Farmhouse, we absolutely love this gem of a B&B, we did not want to leave! Roy was the perfect host, greeting us with a warm welcome and home bakes and we could have chatted into the small wee hours as he is such a charismatic and interesting person. Breakfast on both mornings was divine, we highly recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon (out of this world!) and the porridge with whiskey (never tasted porridge like it). The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate, private bathroom is delightfully decorated. Dear Orla, sorry we missed you this time, as we were looking forward to seeing you again, your home made bread was delicious as always and next time we look forward to seeing you both. We cannot recommend enough this outstanding B&B. Beautiful location and beautiful hosts!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ChrisRhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews