We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while in Dumfries. The room was lovely and spacious with a great shower (no bath - although I think other rooms do have baths so you may be able to request a room with one). Breakfast was served from 7am till 10am with a nice selection of cereals, toast and hot buffet, and check out wasn't until 11am so there was no rush in the morning. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would defiantly use again if in Dumfries.

Room Tip: Wheelchair friendly with specially designed rooms
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review which is much appreciated. We have twelve executive rooms with bath and separate showers plus sofa’s which carry a supplement .These can be booked on request. Hopefully you will be in Dumfries soon and we can welcome you back. In the meanwhile, kind Regards Mike Phillips General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dumfries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 893 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is located a mile or so outside of Dumfries city centre.

It is very modern inside with comfortable spacious rooms.

I have stayed here a few times for work now and have always left, some times very early, feeling very refreshed and ready for the working day ahead.

The service is good and very accommodating, on one occasion where I had to leave at 6am the night staff prepared me some breakfast for 5:30 at not extra charge and without making me feel bad for asking.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Dumfries area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHM-32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for this review. This is exactly what we are trying to achieve. Our aim is to have every guest leaving with the same feeling having enjoyed their Aston experience. I am pleased that we came up to your expectations. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the near future however late or early that may be!!! Mike Phillips General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What lovely grounds this hotel has, and the food was excellent, as were the staff the rooms are very spagious and the cleanest we have seen in a while, I titled this review as " Second Honeymoon " because that was how this hotel made my wife and I feel, even though we have been together over 40yrs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Hi Congratulations. Thank you for this review. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay at The Aston. Hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you for more honeymoons. Kind Regards, Mike Phillips, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

we staid for a couple of nights in june 2009 the night before our wedding and the nigh of the wedding, room was lovely, spotless and the shower was heaven! the staff couldnt be more helpful would be happy to recommended this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thanks for this review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay at the Aston and indeed would recommend to others. Hope to welcome you again. In the meanwhile Kind Regards, Mike Phillips, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here with a gang of off roading friends and all was good lovely place to stay although the 2nd night we were there the boiler stopped working so we had to have cold showers which wasn't good after a day playing in the mud

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NobbyNosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for this review. Pleased to note you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comment on the hot water situation. We called an engineer who attended as soon possible. My apologies for the cold shower and confirm the offending boiler has been replaced with a shiny new one!!!
Thanks again, Mike Phillips General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
2.3 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
3.1 km away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
2.1 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.0 km away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
22.0 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: RM377 - RM688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing