We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stuart C

Dishonest and hidden charges

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024
Rooms are ok with small grumble that coffee not replenished next morning. Stay was soured however by hidden costs of £27 for parking in hotel car park. This could easily have been explained at check in when gave car registration to staff and allow guests to consider parking options and consent to paying absurd parking costs from Indigo hotels. This was not explained by staff and staff unsympathetic at cost nor did they acknowledge that this was a blow for a family trying to enjoy short Easter break. Horrible way to leave hotel feeling short changed and scammed. Would not stay again as this hotel and staff are not trustworthy.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Baber, Owner at Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel, responded to this review
Responded 23 Apr 2024
Stuart - Disappointing to read your feedback nor the dual posts. I should add that it is unfair to refer to my team as dishonest. We are city center hotel with limited chargeable parking. The 3rd party channel you booked through has all the information clear on parking availability and charges. You received a pre arrival courtesy email from the hotel including information on parking availability and charges. There are 6 x A1 signs in the car park explaining the charges that apply, in fact, there was a sign on the wall next to your vehicle. Your unsubstantiated review has had a profound affect on our high level guest satisfaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 587
  • Booking.com
  • Staybridge.com
    RM 586
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
RM 491
RM 472
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 443
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 536
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 389
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 347
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    RM 453
  • Expedia.com
    RM 561
2.7 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 232
  • Travelodge
1.9 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 455
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Weddings
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 424
  • Algotels
6.3 km from Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dundee
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
332
107
20
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
107
20
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill irn bru junior suite nespresso machine council car park parking is limited pay and display marmalade mini fridge super hotel city centre large bathroom arbroath smokie reception area fantastic hotel original features staybridge suites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2024

A gorgeous hotel! We decided to extend our stay in Dundee by an extra night but unfortunately the hotel we were in already was fulu booked. The Indigo was reasonably close by and a comparable price so I booked it without really looking at it in much detail. What a pleasant surprise! It's beautifully decorated, the room was amazing and spacious, and I loved all the little quirky touches. We had a drink in the (new) bar and dinner in the restaurant and both were lovely and good value for money. Staff were all friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the little exhibition about the history of the building (a former mill). We will definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seema Thomson, Owner at Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Dear carriecon,


Thank you very much for taking time to share your valuable feedback. I wanted to take a moment to express my sincere gratitude for the positive review you left regarding your recent experience with us.

Thank you for mentioning Conner, he is such a talented Manager and indeed an asset to the hotel.

Your feedback means a lot to us, and we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time. It’s always rewarding to know that our efforts to provide excellent service and experiences are appreciated by our guests like yourself.

Your kind words serve as a great motivation for our team to continue delivering exceptional hospitality.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback.

We truly value your support and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely quiet spot. Room we were in wasn’t the biggest (floor 5) and only had a skyline window, so no great views but that is just a minor niggle. Bathroom is massive and well appointed, comfortable bed. I could not find a way to switch off the fan unit, so didn’t have a great night’s sleep. Restaurant was good, food was OK (my fish with pickled vegetables had far too many pickled onions and radishes but little else) but a tad on the expensive side. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very efficient. Would stay again.

Room tip: We parked in a council car park (free after 17:30 and free on Sundays until afternoon) as we heard about the issues with the hotel car park.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Katarina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seema Thomson, Owner at Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thank You for Your Wonderful TripAdvisor Review!
Dear Katarina G,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Indigo Dundee on TripAdvisor.
Your kind and honest words about our services are truly appreciated. Our team works hard to ensure every guest has a memorable experience, and it means a lot to us to know that we met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the near future.
If there is anything more, we can do to make your next visit even better, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Indigo Dundee.
Your feedback is invaluable to us.

Warm regards,

S Thomson
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

Myself and my daughter stayed at Hotel Indigo, as she was attending a dance competition locally.
The first night was fine but on the second night we were woken up around midnight from the arrival of a group of people next to us. The problem was not only were they having a gathering, which involved other people from the room opposite, going back and forth. They were very noisy! I literally could hear everything!!
They were enjoying themselves, which was something they can do but it continued onto 2pm, until I requested a room change.

My problem was that our room had an internal door. It felt like we were in the same room, which made me feel extremely uncomfortable. The noise volume was amplified from the wooden floor, which in the middle of the night all sounds are louder i.e shoes, music, making hot drinks, going to toilet.

I emailed the hotel once I was home but never received a reply, until I sent it again a week later. Only for them to say they were perplexed about the incident.
Why hire out rooms to different groups, with an internal door???????? They couldn't answer this either!

Very poor customer service

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightsee620447
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Dear Sightsee620447,

Thank you for staying at our Hotel Indigo Dundee while visiting Dundee and providing feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest.

I would like to apologize for the service of our staff and the noisy room. We want our guests to encounter something else. I shared this information with our team to properly investigate. It is significant for all our guests to have a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, as we strive to maintain a high-quality standard of service at all times.

I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2023


My recent stay at Hotel Indigo Dundee was an absolute delight, and it was made even more memorable by the exceptional service provided by by the reception team. From the moment I stepped into the stylish lobby to the day of my departure

The room, a tasteful blend of modern design and Dundee's unique character, was a haven of comfort. However, what truly stood out was the amazing shower experience. The attention to detail in the bathroom design, coupled with the invigorating water pressure, created a spa-like atmosphere. It was a refreshing and rejuvenating way to start and end each day, adding an extra layer of luxury to my stay.

Room tip: Shower was amazing
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seema Thomson, Owner at Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Dear Amazing stay,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you were delighted, that's what our team aims for. Our room are unique with characters of our city Dundee.

We cant wait to welcome you back for another delightful stay with us.

Regards
S Thomson
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2023 via mobile

Lovely suite and a great room. Good location away from the town centre but easy walk to all the main areas but be aware dimly lit during the darker winter nights.
My only comment would be the lack of parking although there appears to be work going on to improve this and there is a public car park at the bottom of the hill on the approach to the hotel. Would happily stay again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seema Thomson, Owner at Hotel Indigo Dundee, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Dear PMACCA,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your valuable feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the suite. As you mentioned regarding the parking, the hotel was converted from an old jute mill hence the pace is limited when it comes to parking. However the team is happy to guide our guests to near by parking areas.

We are glad that you are looking forward to stay again and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Regards
S Thomson
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews