We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Denhead Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Denhead Cottage
The Patio - all ready for relaxing.
The Patio - securely fenced.
Private Front Door Entrance
Entrance and Parking.
View from Patio- overlooking our garden and farmland adjacent. Lovely farm walks at cottage.
Aerial view of Denhead House and Cottage
Main Bedroom - a spacious beautiful room with quality furniture.
The Super King size bed set out for Christmas guests.
Main bedroom in evening light.
Corner Bath.
Basin and WC with corner bath on left.
New Walk-in Shower.
Bedroom 2 which has beautiful antique light oak furniture. Here beds have  made up into a superking.
Second Bedroom laid out for Christmas guests. Beds made up as 3' twin beds.
Kitchen and Dining Area for 6.
Our Christmas and New Year Welcome Basket.
A crisp bright winters day at the Cottage and our house next door.
Kitchen Area with hob, oven, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier
Lounge which has a flat screen t.v.
The large Lounge with curtains drawn. A cosy nest chair big enough for two!
Large Lounge with bedroom door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dundee, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joergen22...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Denhead Cottage is beautiful, very very well kept, spotless and equipped with every amenity you would want on a holiday incl. wi-fi, music centre, TV, games and books and lots of information about the area and Scotland in general. The hosts are extremely nice and service minded. Upon arrival we were met by our host Nigel who left us with a bottle of red wine and snacks to welcome us.
The location of the cottage is great, quite isolated and a beautiful setting with great views from the terrace and living room. Only about 10 mins drive to the centre of Dundee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
It was very nice to welcome you to Denhead Cottage. We are glad you found everything that you needed at the cottage. When we started doing the Holiday Lets- quite a few years ago now- we tried to equip it with all the things we ourselves like to see in a holiday cottage. Cleanliness came high on that list along with comfortable beds. We are delighted you found it spotless, well-kept and with every amenity you needed for a lovely holiday.
Thank you for your super review. We appreciate you giving your time in doing this.
We look forward to seeing you again when you venture north again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why look for anywhere else, Denhead cottage has it all.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very enjoyable week with our 7 year old daughter at this lovely, homely cottage.

We found Denhead cottage to be the perfect place to stay. The cottage had all we needed for a comfortable weeks holiday. (Especially the beds). It was a great base for seeing the local area as well as places further away such as Edinburgh and Pitlochry.

Passes to Piperdam were a great bonus. Our daughter loved going there for a swim after a day out and about. We had a couple of meals there too, which we're very enjoyable.

Thanks Nigel, we had a great week.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for a lovely review.
We are so glad you had a lovely holiday and slept well too! Beds are SO important! We have the pocket sprung mattresses in our house also and we certainly can recommend them. When we bought new beds and mattresses for the cottage ....well..... there were no arguments about what type to buy!!

We are glad you enjoyed the free Piperdam passes. We are so lucky to have the Piperdam Golf and Leisure Resort on our doorstep. The pool is such a good size for "proper" swimming (not just a wee splash pool) and the gym has all been renewed and extended ready for some serious excercise. We often go for a workout and a swim and then treat ourselves to a nice bar lunch.....we don't feel guilty treating ourselves after working hard!
We are glad you found everything to your liking. Thank you for coming - it was a pleasure having you. We look forward to meeting you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russellw9...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This cottage is truly superb and all you could wish for. All the rooms are spacious and there is a comfortable lounge and lovely patio which even in October we managed to make use of as it faces south. Excellent reliable wifi.
Nigel was extremely welcoming and helpful and would recommend this as a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thankyou so much for your super review. It is kind of you to take the time.
Yes the patio is so sheltered and a real sunny spot. We've been lucky this year with a gorgeous autumn and its great to be able to pop out with a coffee or something stronger and lap up the sunshine.
We are glad too that all was satisfactory with the unlimited wifi. We had it wired in professionally and its great to know we can rely on it. We always like to have wifi when we go on holiday and and when we dont have it we feel quite cut off! We thought if we feel like that then so will our guests, so made sure it was reliable, unlimited and free!
Thanks again.
We both look forward to welcoming you back to Denhead Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D
2 reviews
“Perfect for us - felt immediately at home, no acclimatisation necessary”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Denhead Cottage was highly recommended to us by a relative as accommodation whilst visiting Scotland for a family wedding in the village nearby. We (4 adults and 2 young children) booked for a week and it was perfect for us as a base to visit family and the surrounding area which we know well. What a peaceful haven to stay at and return to each day - a home away from home in every sense. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Pam and Nigel who were always only too happy to help. The cottage's rooms are large and comfortable, with very comfortable beds and good quality homely furniture. There is very good living space, opening out on to a patio (inc handy all-weather retractable awning) with a fantastic view across Pam and Nigel's lovely garden toward the Tay Estuary, complete with plenty of birdlife. The kitchen is well-appointed with all amenities you can think of, and the modern bathroom with large shower, tastefully decorated. Parking and access was handy, esp for the wedding! In fact we felt so at home here we'd certainly like to make it our base for visits to Scotland again. Thanks Pam and Nigel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of relaxation and comfort, looking out at the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
We are so glad your enjoyed your visit and liked the cottage. We love living here and its nice to share it with visitors who love it as much as us! We are so lucky to live in the country with all the pluses that that brings and yet be so close to Dundee, Edinburgh and St Andrews for a city fix! It was lovely to have you all to stay and glad that the wedding went off well with the sun shining all day ...well nearly all day.

We hope to welcome you back before too long - as they say in Scotland Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris O
Moshi, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet garden setting”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I spent a week at Denhead Cottage with my spouse and teenage daughters. We had a week of glorious sunshine interspersed with the occasional rain shower - the sort of Summer weather that Scotland excels at. Denhead Cottage's location is ideal to enjoy the weather - it has its own enclosed patio with garden furniture and looks out onto the owners mature garden. There is plentiful bird life encouraged by feeders. The owners, Nigel and Pamela, live in the adjoining house and are available as necessary to provide any information or address any issues. The cottage has a quaint charm - it appears to have evolved over the years from a farm cottage into a granny flat into a holiday let and the narrative of its history is apparent in the structure. The owners have sought to make the property homely and have provided books, DVDs and a good selection of tourist information for visitors. There is a golf course and leisure resort nearby (30 minute walk through a neighbouring farm or 10 minutes by car) and membership is provided with the let. The location is rural. The property is on a quiet B road approximately 10 minutes from village shops and 25 minutes from Dundee city. It is not a fancy place, but comfortable, quiet and accommodating. We found the catering facilities a bit limited - there is a microwave and 2 ring hob, but no oven and there is limited space for food storage (although I think this could be easily addressed by the owners by adding an additional cupboard shelf or two). Parking at the property is somewhat limited too - being right be the roadside. Nigel was friendly and attentive. We used the property as a base to visit friends in Dundee, Aberdeen and Edinburgh and know the area well, but for new visitors I expect that Nigel will be a good source for information and recommendations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden outlook
Liked least: Lack of oven and food storage space - also a lot of wasps during our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
We are pleased that our cottage provided the safe, comfortable and quiet haven for your week’s break. It is what my wife and I really like about the area we live in. The fact that the cottage is situated on a quiet unclassified rural road, not B category as stated, gives it its charm. The local village facilities which include petrol station, Co-Op, Post office/chemist and restaurant are only 2 miles away. Piperdam Leisure Resort, for which we provide our guests with complimentary passes, is a mere 5 minutes by car and 15 minutes by foot along lovely tracks. Dundee centre is only 8 miles away.
The off road car parking we provide is next to the cottage with space for two cars. Further off road space is available nearby.
We provide a combination microwave oven that allows microwave and conventional oven cooking, 2 electric glass hob rings and a slow cooker for those lovely stews to bubble away while you are out enjoying the countryside. The combination microwave oven allows those cooks amongst you to oven cook, grill or microwave your meals whichever way your holiday mood takes you, and to provide even more of a choice, a separate conventional oven is being installed later this summer. A fridge with a freezer food compartment is provided, as well as adequate cupboards for food storage.
We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests, providing them with local information and recommendations of places we ourselves have been to in order to ensure their quality, it is what we would like when we go on holiday.
We regularly upgrade and have installed this year a new shower and energy efficient boiler.
We welcome inspections, as we did when this reviewer’s mother was sent to look at the property, and explained about the oven being installed, where cars were parked, the heating system and kitchen layout.
As pointed out we are situated in a brilliant place to base your holiday from, with so many towns and places to see and restaurants and attractions to visit closeby. We are very lucky that way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing