We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant care and attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glenisala

The Glenisala
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glenisala
Ranked #318 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Lancs uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brilliant care and attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed at the Glenisla nights of the 5th/6th August. Very impressed. Greeted on arrival by Graham who pre-booked our breakfasts, provided us with information on the near by bus services, especially the tips on having to tender the correct fare! The hotel is extremely clean and tidy. It is situated in a very quiet residential area but is only a matter of 2 - 3 minutes from the major bus routes into the city. Breakfast was prepared once you had been served served tea or coffee, and arrived at the table well served and piping hot. Nothing appeared to be to much trouble for Graham. My daughter wanted to surprise us with a large box of chocolates on our arrival, and Graham had duly obliged by buying them for her and leaving them for us. Quiet, well run hotel, with lots of attention to detail. Highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Try and get the en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacktarLancsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you so much
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    17
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and daughter have just returned from our stay at the Glenisla, Graham is a wonderful most helpful host.Everything has been thought of from bus info, places to eat along with comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast,If you are going to Edinburgh stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you very much
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Graham is a wonderful host! This is a lovely guest house in a quiet residential area. You get a good night's sleep and there are so many bus routes into the centre that it is very easy staying out here. A very well cooked breakfast.... thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Much appreciated
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Both myself and my fiancee stayed over for just 3 nights in July at the Glenisla whilst we were visiting edinburgh. The Glenisla was just what we were looking for. Located in a quiet suburb within 10 min bus ride from the main city centre the hotel is clean, tidy and staff very welcoming and friendly.

The room we stayed in was one of the more expensive on-suites and was clean and comfortable with complimentary tea,coffee,water and a selection of biscuits provided. The towels were changed on a daily basis (If requested) and graham (the owner) went out of his way to help you in any way he could. A TV was provided in your room if you wanted to but we were in edinburgh to see the historical sights so didn't make use of this much.

A large selection of Flyers, Maps and general places to visit whilst in Edinburgh were provided at reception along with FREE wi-fi access during the course of your stay.

The breakfast was catered for all needs and had a good selection of cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruits and yogurts. To top it off you were supplied with a generous Scottish cooked breakfast consisting of Bacon, Egg, Beans, Sausages, mushrooms, potato bread and not forgetting HAGGIS. The best bit by far.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Glenisla and would certainly stay there again if we were ever to return to Edinburgh for another visit and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRENDAV699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My son and I stayed here while visiting the university. It's a short busride to the city centre and gave us an excellent base for getting to know the university, without the benefit of a quiet neigborhood. The rooms was comfortable, clean, and attractive. Our host was exceptional for his hospitality and helpfulness. Breakfast was generous and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRobinson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Many thanks
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Sixteen
#95 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenisala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenisala

Property: The Glenisala
Address: 12 Lygon Road, Edinburgh EH16 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): RM124 - RM281
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome always awaits our guests at The Glenisla guest house and bed and breakfast, and it will be our pleasure to ensure that you have a memorable stay in Edinburgh. Situated in the leafy suburbs of historic Edinburgh, our guest house offers a great bed & breakfast and a convenient place to stay while touring the beautiful city of Edinburgh. While in Edinburgh we wish to ensure you have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and receive the highest standards of care and attention possible of any bed and breakfast or guest house. Our bed and breakfast is housed in one of Edinburgh’s 19th-century Georgian buildings, retaining its traditional appearance with some wonderful original cornices, elegant high ceilings and stained glass windows with attractive gardens to the front and rear, a truly serene setting for bed and breakfast in Edinburgh. We are a small (9 bedrooms) family run bed & breakfast. Our guest house is located in a peaceful and beautiful conservation area of Edinburgh, yet only minutes by bus or taxi from Edinburgh city centre. Edinburgh University's Kings Buildings are just a stone's throw away, so The Glenisla guest house is a great place to stay if you are in Edinburgh for an Open Day or Residential Week at the University, or if you are a visiting lecturer or a student undertaking a research project.We are also only a short distance from the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary and can boast ample free parking (both on-street and off-street) as well as free Wi-Fi in all rooms so The Glenisla guest house is perfect for those visiting Edinburgh on business as well as pleasure.Our bed and breakfast package is the ideal way to start your working or touring day in Edinburgh and you can be sure of a warm welcome during your visit to our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Glenisala Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing