We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern clean apt with amazing location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Our family of 6 spread out in the 3 bedroom, 2 bath penthouse apt. It was a welcome break from the cramped UK hotel rooms. 24 hr reception staff was always helpful, building had security entrance. The washer/dryer combo unit in the apartment was nice, but it took forever to dry small loads of clothes. The kitchen had service for 8, but limited cooking utensils. The 2 bathrooms, all bedrooms and living/dining combo were spacious and comfortable. WIFI worked well on 6 devices at once.
The apt is a 5 min walk from Waverly train station (you can hear the train announcement although it didn't keep us from sleeping). There's a small grocery in Waverly and a coffee shop & ATM a few steps from the apt. The old cemetery is behind the building and we honestly saw 3 homeless men injecting IV drugs and sleeping in the tomb from our window. Despite that, I did feel very safe in the area. The Royal Mile across the bridge is about a 10 minute walk. The views of the old city from the apt and the rooftop patio are amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MNmom535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2015

Dear MNmom535,

Thank you for such a glowing review of your time spent with us.
I am delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy the apartments and our proximity to all of Edinburgh's attractions.
I am sorry if you were disturbed by any external noise from next to the apartments. Unfortunately this is outwith our control and is not a common feature.
I hope you had a safe onward journey and look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites in the future.

Kind regards,
Fiona Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

The apartment we were in was large and roomy. The apartment staff were very knowledgeable. I would definitely stay here again. The only negative was the dryer not working and we were counting on this to clean and dry our clothes mid-trip. This caused lots of problems and I had to keep getting up in the middle of the night to rearrange the clothes on the radiators. The front desk staff knew this but did not offer to have our clothes dried elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear researchtraveler2010,

Thank you for passing on your comments regarding your recent stay.

I am glad you found the apartment to be spacious enough for your needs and will certainly pass on your kind words to the team.
I'm sorry the dryer was not working in your apartment. We were waiting for a part for it which took longer to be delivered than expected. Unfortunately we were fully booked during your stay or we would have provided an alternative apartment for you.
I hope this did not prove to much of an inconvenience for you and you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip in Edinburgh.

Kind regards,
Fiona Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Just stayed for three nights at the Princes Street suites. We booked a two bedroom apartment which was huge and very comfortable with all the amenities. Fabulous location at one end of Princess street next to Waverly station very convenient for outstation guests and close to all major attractions. Staff is friendly and the front reception desk was especially friendly and efficient. Highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Shafisaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Shafisaira,

Thank you for such a kind review of your recent stay with us!

Our apartments are indeed very spacious and fully equipped so i am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the facilities we provide as well as our excellent location! I will certainly pass on your kind words to the rest of team and hope to be able to welcome you back to Princes Street Suites in the future.

Kind regards,
Fiona Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

If you are looking foe a bit of style and comfort then you have come to the right place. Although these apartments are quite expensive you can manage a wee bargain depending what time of year and nights you are looking for. These apartments are massive ,very modern , clean and very comfortable so much so you won't want to leave them and see the sights . Book you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyStiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Dear Jimmystiv,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a kind review!

I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the space and comfort we provide in the apartments. Our location does mean that we are within walking distance to all the attractions Edinburgh has to offer so i hope you were able to tear yourself away from the apartments to see them.

We do have special offers on throughout the year so please give us a call before your next visit to Edinburgh and we can provide you with more information.

Kind regards,
Fiona Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

A bit expensive but we had a one bedroom apartment which was huge. Quiet and clean, great location, walking distance to most attractions. Staff very friendly. Washer and dryer in apartment. Would definitely pay the extra to stay again. The rooftop terrace was amazing for some great city and scenic shots.

Room Tip: I suppose it depends on what you're after but the one bedroom apartments were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Dear Heidi M,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate our fantastic location and spacious apartments. Our roof top terrace is one of a kind and i'm glad you were able to enjoy it.

Thank you again for your kind review. I hope you had a safe onwards journey and look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites in the future.

Kind regards,

Fiona Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#59 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,596 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,899 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: RM 323 - RM 1,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing