We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible tourist trap ”

Indian Lounge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Indian Lounge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,126 of 2,698 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$16 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Very popular with locals and tourists, recommended by many food critics from Edinburgh.Fresh, home cooked traditional and modern Indian food since 1983. We have a extensive range of dishes to choose from chicken, lamb, seafood and vegetarian. We also have a large selection of gluten free dishes. We buy fresh and quality ingredients.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Title say it all tourist trap with no flavour fast service of absolute rubbish don’t bother get a pizza

2  Thank cumbrianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execlad, General Manager at Indian Lounge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wow. What do you know about food eh? You daft person.
Who the hell comes to a restaurant drunk and think it's OK to swear and speak loudly.
Next time stay at home and get drunk and swear to the wall as the wall won't talk back to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Wandered in because we fancied a curry. What a find! Delicious food! The lamb saag was incredibly tender- it just fell apart - and the chicken karahi- sharp and spicy. So delicious!! Wish we didn't live so far away.
Walk down those steps into this basement restaurant - you won't be disappointed.

Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execlad, General Manager at Indian Lounge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

☺☺☺☺☺ hope to see you next time your in Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We visited here Saturday evening, it was quite busy, but service was swift and the staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful.
We had the banquet for four and we were able to choose what we wanted. It was £89, which included: popadoms & pickles, a platter of various starters of our choice, 4 curries, Bombay potatoes, vegetables, 2 large platters of 2 varieties of rice and 2 naan breads.
It was all delicious and plenty of it.
Great atmosphere, clean and great service.
Only negative, we had 3 x 1/2 pints of lime & soda and 1 lemonade & lime, which came to £10, which was very expensive!
Would definitely recommend, but make sure you go hungry!

Thank fonzie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execlad, General Manager at Indian Lounge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi
I'm glad you had a good time as we enjoyed serving you.
Our food is produced using high end ingredients plus we cook with olive oil and use free range poultry and grass fed Scottish lamb
Our drink prices are reasonable due to us being in city centre location.
Other bars around us charge £8 for a cocktail that only costs around £1.80 to make
We hope to see you soon as it was fun serving you☺☺☺☺☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Advertised as “Edinburgh’s Number 1”, I have to agree with it being the only one I have been to. Food was good and we had a nice meal but did feel a bit ignored - it was very busy. Indian food is my favourite and I have had better. Will probably try a different one next time.

Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execlad, General Manager at Indian Lounge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi.
We don't like to stare at customers when they are eating as it is not professional.
When you need staffs attention just say "excuse me" as when it's busy that's the best thing to do plus we also attend every table every 5 minutes or so to make sure things are fine.

We cook in olive oil use produce like grass fed lamb and free range chicken.

When you next come to Edinburgh you try our lamb karai or garlic chicken and tell me they are not the best dishes you ever tasted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent food that was clearly cooked as we ordered it. Very fresh ingredients. The Pakora starter was so fresh and delicious. Unfortunately by the time you add poppadoms and a some beers it’s more like £30 than £24!! Delicious and well cooked food.

Thank Noteasilypleased666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execlad, General Manager at Indian Lounge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi thanks for your review.
We do cook fresh as we are a family business also we cook in olive oil and use produce like free range chicken and grass fed lamb.
All these things cost a lot

Hope to see you soon☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Lounge Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Indian Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing