We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
52
25
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
25
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre national museum full scottish breakfast set us up for the day very comfortable room minute walk walking distance two nights other guests haggis yogurt princes street buses castle
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights 22/23 march. We arrived by train so got a taxi to b/b. Arrived on time but could not get a answer at the front door so tried to call the number on the door on the phone on the wall. However this number has two number eights in it but the number eight on the key pad is broken ?. There is another message to try the b/b over the road, not the best start but over we went. The guy who answered the door acted like we were from mars said he had too make a call and kept us at the door ( it was freezing cold). Eventually he came back and said he would show us in. He took us over showed us the room and this was freezing cold aswell. We asked if he could put the heating on, he went away and came back a few mins later too tell us it was on. I had noticed we had not been left any towels at all in the bathroom and asked him for some. He now seemed a little put out, off he went and came back with the towels, still seeming a bit put out. The room was ok, just ok, the carpets need a professional clean. It,s a little too far from Princess st for walking for us (about 20 min at least). So taxis everywhere. We saw the guy from across the road the morning we left, he said the card reader had just been installed and he did,nt know how it worked. Luckily I had just enough cash. Overall this b/b is ok, a bit far out. Next visit will try and stay more near the actual centre, although this will cost more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luckyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

The Drysdale house was very nice to stay with. The morning breakfasts were traditional and great. The services couldn't be better. We were even surprised on a return to the room to find a bouquet of flowers and bottle of wine from the hosts. Graham and Janet sre wonderful people and we recommend staying here anytime.

2  Thank Vacation200800
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here over the Festival period. Good clean basic hotel. Graham and his little helper Ella are very nice, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast very good and served quickly. Room has everything you need -TV, tea and coffee, beds made daily, plenty of storage space.
Ideal location in the Tollcross area, loads of shops, eateries , transport all on your door step. the 10 or 27 (make sure the 27 is a LOTHIAN 27 if your getting it back from the city,) buses into the city centre.
Easy walking distance to the Grassmarket area and other areas of the city.
Was a bit pricey being in the festival season so imagine it would be less other months, which would represent good value.
My only gripe was that the our room on the front could be noisy. Its on a major bus route and gets noisy from early morning to late at night. but there are a lot of b and b's on this road and imagine its the same for all of them.
Didn't bother us really, but one night we were in bed earlyish about 11, and it was VERY noisy. May bother others /families with children. If I ever went back I would want to look at other rooms. But we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A great location, with buses at end of street, also good walking distance to Princess St. Close to supermarket, and restaurants. Clean room, very quiet on ground floor. Host looked after us brilliantly, very good breakfast. .

Room Tip: Even though we were on the ground floor next to the dining room, there was no noise, very quiet room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorothyg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had the great pleasure of staying here twice when looking for a new home. Relocating is very challenging but not when you have Karen.

Over the most lush of breakfast we had good chats with guests and Karen. She really made us feel welcome and ensured we all mingled (if we wanted - which we did). It was like visiting family, well the family you want to visit. Only joking, but the point is made.

Do stay here and have a wonderful time.

Excellent walking distance to everything you need.

Room Tip: Some have excellent castle views
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donkey_teeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews