We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adam Drysdale House
Ranked #126 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2017

A very nice place to stay. We received a very warm welcome from the owner Janette who gave a lot of useful information. Our room was right at the top of the building up two flights of stairs. The room was very comfortable and clean with fantastic on-suite facilities.
The breakfasts we had were very good.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hazzybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

A really great two night stay .It is very central and easy to walk to places.
Delicious varied breakfast and a very comfortable room.
The owner Janette could not have been more helpful and friendly.
We will definitely go back here .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Really friendly place, Janette was very accommodating and made sure that we had great places to go in Edinburgh.
She also made sure our room was cleaned between the two nights that we stayed there, and the breakfast was amazing. I had the full Scottish breakfast however my girlfriend preferred a lighter option so Janette happily cooked her scrambled eggs and bacon on toast instead (which wasn't on the menu). There was also fruit, cereal, yogurt and pastries available.

It was also only a short walk away from the centre of Edinburgh (around 15 minutes) which was lovely.

We would definitely stay here again.

Note: Don't pay attention to the pictures on here from 2014, our room was really nice so we think the place has been renovated since.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We have recently returned home from a great weekend in Edinburgh celebrating my wife's 40th birthday. The accommodation at Adam Drysdale is first class.

The location was perfect and within easy walking distance from the city centre. Janette was very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. She responded to emails prior to our visit and helped me set up a surprise for my wife. It was lovely that she was always on hand with some tips and advice during our stay.

Adam Drysdale House is a lovely B&B, very clean, very friendly and we would love to visit again in the future.

Thank you Janette.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights! Very warm welcome! Lovely room, bathroom was first class! Great breakfast!
Janette the proprietor was genuinely friendly! We'd gladly stay here again!
The guest house is walking distance from the castle and princes street!
Free car parking on request,

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,056 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,093 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Drysdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Drysdale House

Address: 42 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: RM 480 - RM 862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adam Drysdale House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adam Drysdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam Drysdale House Hotel Edinburgh
Adam Drysdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing