We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This apartment is amazing, we would stay there...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sittingroom 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sittingroom 2
edinburghcastle4 Sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Sittingroom 2
edinburghcastle4
Sittingroom
highstreet
Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MelissaEl...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This apartment is amazing, we would stay there again in a heartbeat.”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in October 2010
2
people found this review helpful

This place is absolutely perfect. My husband and I stayed at Advocate's Close for the first week of our honeymoon in Scotland and we couldn't have been happier.

Everything about the place itself was nice, clean and stress-free. Derek met us there upon our arrival to give us the keys and explain a few things (note: if you aren't familiar with a 2in1 washer dryer, ask for a tutorial! it took us a while to figure it out, sadly). The apartment was spotless and nicely decorated and had everything we needed and more! We don't have a dishwasher at home, so that was a treat, and the welcome basket was a really nice touch.

As for the location - it can't be beat. It's right in the middle of the Royal Mile, across from St. Giles, making it possibly the most central place to stay in Old Town. You don't have to walk far to experience the fascinating (and creepy!) history of Edinburgh. The castle is at the top of the Royal Mile and the palace is at the bottom, both within easy walking distance of Pillowstops. There are ghost walks and historic city tours that start right at your doorstop. When you start to explore other parts of Edinburgh, if you're anything like me, you'll be grateful to be staying somewhere that's so easy to find, especially after visiting a few of Edinburgh's great pubs.

I would recommend Advocate's Close to anyone. We plan on visiting Edinburgh again and we'll definitely be calling Derek when the time comes. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2011
What a lovely review and very much appreciated. When we first saw this apartment we also thought it was perfect and could not wait to buy it and fit it out as a holiday apartment. We loved the central location on what is Edinburgh`s most popular tourist street. It is wonderful just to sit and watch what is happening on the Royal Mile, people watching at it`s very best !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 1 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhiskyJen
Langley City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“From now on I will only stay here when in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 14 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
3
people found this review helpful

This is the fullest way to experience Edinburgh! The location is unmatcheable - directly across from St Giles, kirk which is lit up at night in all its gothic glory - and Scottish history at your doorstep. An absolute privilege to live for a short time amongst the fascinating history of the Royal Mile (and what a stellar feeling to descend the stone steps of the flat from the front door - everyone on the street looks at you like you are a celebrity! Same as well when you sit in one of the deep window seats while tour groups pass under you and look up with curiosity or envy :) The city touches your heart forever, and this apartment makes the experience personal: you are not just visiting Edinburgh's old town, you are living in it! The convenience was unmatcheable - as we made purchases in the shops or at the castle we only had a quick walk back to drop it off at the flat, then on our way again without the hassle of bags. The flat is comfortable, clean and secure (above street level). I have visited Edinburgh before and stayed at B&B's near town centre, but I am so relieved that this time I choose Advoate's Close Apartment : when you experience the convenience and delight of this location you will understand how marvelous it is.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turry01
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing