We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out ”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #4 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 12 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round .Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely time on the Royal Yacht despite the wet weather. The entire experience was very informative and interesting and the tea room on board was fantastic with great food and super friendly and helpful staff :)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank lmk1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We are pleased that you had such a great day out aboard Britannia, and that you found the tour to be so informative. We will certainly ensure that your kind words regarding our Tea Room staff are passed on, as they work hard to ensure every visitor’s experience is extra special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tea room"
in 1,427 reviews
"engine room"
in 950 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 779 reviews
"own pace"
in 1,070 reviews
"ocean terminal"
in 804 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,293 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 213 reviews
"top deck"
in 264 reviews
"crew quarters"
in 180 reviews
"other half"
in 426 reviews
"scones"
in 754 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 250 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 390 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 258 reviews
"fudge"
in 362 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 288 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 430 reviews
Filter

1,822 - 1,826 of 19,644 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

This attraction is located approx. 25 minutes from the city. It is an excellent place to spend half a day as there are multiple floors and the audio guides are excellent. The kids loved the opulent royal rooms and it is definitely worth a visit. We bought the Royal Edinburgh ticket and entry was covered with this ticket.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RPanicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Britannia. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed the tour, and that you found our complimentary audio guide to be so informative. The Royal Edinburgh Ticket is indeed a fantastic way of visiting Edinburgh Castle, the Palace of Holyroodhouse and The Royal Yacht Britannia, and also includes 48 hours travel around the city on the Edinburgh tour buses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic time we had as a family. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Having your own handheld audio guide is great. You can listen at your own pace. The kids loved it. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Emmydob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We are glad that your tour of Britannia proved to be fun for all the family, and that you had such a fantastic time on board. Thank you for your five-star review, and kind recommendation, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Highly recommended attraction - and THE best scones with jam I have had in the cafe on the main deck. Not sure why QE2 let this grand conveyance out to pasture.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Dropkick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of Britannia. It is great to learn that you enjoyed the tour, and our Galley Team in the Royal Deck Tea Room will be delighted that you enjoyed our freshly baked scones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is wonderful place to visit. The deck plan is easy to follow and the audio can be listened to at your own pace and was interesting.
We had lovely coffee and scones in the cafe and bought fudge in the shop.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank whatcitynext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for visiting The Royal Yacht Britannia. It sounds like you had an excellent time on board Britannia. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour, and found our complimentary audio guide to be so interesting. Many thanks for your five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing