We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claremont Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Twenty(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,065)
Filter reviews
2,065 results
Traveller rating
691
766
396
153
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
766
396
153
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreleith docksocean terminalmini barsuperior roomcontinental breakfastan upgradeeggs benedictroyal yachtbars and restaurantslovely hotelclub roomhotel is situatedan overnight staystayed for one nighta lovely staycomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,065 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room clean, tidy, everything i needed for a two night stay. Staff were great, friendly and polite. I didnt eat in the restaurant in the evenings, as I was there for business which took me away until late in the evening, however the next time I will certainly be staying here when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the Malmaison for our wedding and hey could not have made the event more special for us. They even left a congratulations card and chocolates in the room. The hotel itself is lovely and the food is amazing. Could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjtunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday night stay at this dock side hotel. It definitely lived up to the Malmaison reputation. Gorgeous big and spotless room. Loved the rainfall shower. Lovely modern bar. Only £9 from City Centre in a black cab. Short walk to the Royal Yacht Britannia & cinema, shops & ocean view restaurants. Nice fish food restaurants next door and views of boats on the dock area. Good area outside the hotel to have a quiet drink in the sun. Great!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank ClaireyTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been working nearby and, although I would normally consider the Malmaison to be out of my price range, I got a good deal (£60 per night) on a twin room.

The room was large, with a lovely bathroom but between the rather dark décor and the limited lighting, it felt dim, especially when working at the desk (black top, black wall, one light hanging off to the side).

The single bed was comfortable but the duvet was small enough that I kicked it off several times each night - a larger one, or something to help tuck it in, would have been good.

Breakfast was excellent, as were the deals for booking it in advance - 5p for a £9 drinks allowance cannot be argued with. Unfortunately these deals didn't appear on my final bill so a bit of adjustment was required.

I have reviewed the bar (Chez Mal) separately.

Room Tip: Watch out for the single beds
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OssianLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a weekend in Edinburgh and stayed 2 nights.

Room was not as spacious as some other Malmaisons but very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar well stocked.

Would certainly return

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adrianrngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews