We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Edinburgh , Great hotel and location”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the Dunstane Hotel is a top quality place to stay for your visit to Edinburgh . Situated on a main road into Edinburgh with a well served bus route that takes you right into the city centre ,4 pounds for a day pass on any Lothian bus right up until midnight . also the Airlink 100 bus from Edinburgh airport stops right outside the hotel , very convenient ..The hotel is spotless , rooms very comfortable and the decor is one to be seen to be believed . Staff go out of their way to help on any query , mostly how do I get here ? Really enjoyed our stay with you .. Many thanks Gerry and Sue Britton

Room Tip: have a look at web site or ask hotel for your requirements.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrybritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there gerrybritton

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the recommendation and for noticing that the staff go out of their way. They will be so pleased. I look forward to welcoming you again.

Thanks very much

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for The Dunstane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I have stayed at the Dunstane Hotel 3 times and I always ask for the same room at the very top of the main house. They have redone the room this year and it is absolutely perfect! The staff always go above and beyond but this trip they were even better ( I have no idea how ). The bartender Alex came to my daughter's rescue when I fell asleep and locked her out of the room (they charmingly still use lovely real keys )
and let her into the room after calling me 12 times. Sorry to the people across the hall for disturbing them.
We will not stay anywhere else while visiting Edinburgh it is That Good!!
Thanks again Dunstane ....hope to see you again soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi there Pamela N

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it is so nice to welcome you and your daughter back each year - it is a pleasure to have you. Thank you for continuing to choose us for your stays and we promise to keep improving!

Best wishes and see you next year

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

5 members of our family stayed here in the main hotel for 4 nights. Our room, on the top floor of the hotel was small, but the quality of the furnishings inside were excellent. Although there is a busy road outside we did not hear any traffic noise at all. In fact there was very little noise from within the hotel either. We could not fault any of the staff and nothing at all was too much trouble for them. The standard of the breakfast was first class and catered for any diet. There is a bus stop outside of the hotel and there are good bus links into the city. The buses are frequent and dependant on the traffic you can be in Princess Strreet within 10 minutes.There is also free car parking to the rear of the hotel. We would recommend this small, quiet, lovely hotel and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If you are elderly avoid the top floor rooms as there are no lifts. One of our party had a ground fl...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Forres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi there Jim_Forres

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and comments - although I am curious what we lost the mark on! Always looking to improve! I am so pleased we were able to accommodate you and your family to your expectations, it was a pleasure having you and I do hope we see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

the best place I've stayed in in Edinburgh so far; the staff is very welcoming and provides excellent service; rooms are cozy and spotless; I especially enjoyed your whisky shower gel!

will definitely stay in again when in Edinburgh

highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 858barbora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi there

Thank you so much for your review - we are so proud to be the best place you stayed in! Housekeeping will be delighted for their mention - aren't they wonderful! I look forward to meeting you in person next time

Best wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were flying in to start a 12 day golf trip and needed to find a place to stay for a night so we could expore the city. The Dunstane House worked out great. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Staff was excellent and very accommodating. Bar was beatuiful and well stocked. Very convenient and short transportation to the city. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank larryp342017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi there

Thank you so much to you and your group for choosing to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your exciting trip around Scotland's golf courses.

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: RM635 - RM1,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing