We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$192
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$220
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$332
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$171
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
US$137
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$132
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
251
52
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
52
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastroyal mileyogurthome basebus stop rightcity centrea great place to staysmall fridgebus routeswithin walking distanceprivate bathroomfamily roomenjoyed our stayarthur's seatcold meatsvery pleasant stayexplore edinburgh
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We returned for our third visit to Sherwood. The rooms and communal areas have had a fabulous refurbishment and certainly enhance the lovely building. The continental breakfast continues to be excellent with a great choice of fresh fruit, pastries, cheeses and meats. Vivienne is an exceptional host and really welcomes you into her home. Her advice on places to visit and places to eat is invaluable and freely given. The bus service into the city is brilliant although it is an easy 20 mins walk to the Royal Mile. We are already planning our return next year and would simply stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnandAnne1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne P, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

It was my pleasure yet again, to welcome you both back to my home and I really appreciate your wonderful honest and kind words. I look forward to seeing you both again next year. Vivienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Our visit to Edinburgh was enhanced by the Sherwood Guest House due in large part to the positive energy of the owner, Vivian. The house was recently tastefully re-modeled, the rooms are immaculate, and the breakfast is excellent and includes eggs, pastries, yogurt, juices, and coffee.

The location is also ideal as it is walking distance to the Royal Mile, and the scenic route takes you through the park and along cafes/restaurants, as well as Edinburgh University. There are also excellent restaurants close to the house and Vivian will ensure you know about the really good ones.

Overall, we will definitely stay at Sherwood again the next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canto1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne P, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely kind words and your wonderful review! It was my pleasure to meet you during your recent visit and look forward to seeing you again next time your in town. Vivienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I would love to give this place 5 stars like so many others, but that is simply unrealistic. I am well traveled and have patronized so many hotels and B&B's that I could not possibly remember them all, yet Vivienne is quite possibly the best hostess I've encountered. And if she were operating a modern hotel complex, it would certainly maintain a 5 star rating from all. In this case most rooms are simply too small to be comfortable. Vivienne has done all that is possible to make these rooms top notch - even adding fridges and safes. It was amazing how much detail was put into making the rooms as comfortable and comprehensive as they can be. But in room #6 there is no place for luggage except on the floor (and it must be moved to open the door). The toilet takes over 5 minutes to refill after flushing, which is noisy and irritating at night. The bathroom mirror light did not function, so personal grooming was impossible. There is very little room to move around the bed, and the bathroom is very tiny with a step up. We did see the inside of the large room and it was better, but from the other reviews it seems most rooms are as small as #6. There is no public areas except the dining room, which did not bother us but may bother others. And this was the first B&B type accommodation we have stayed at which did not offer a hot breakfast, although that also did not bother us. Location is very convenient to the center, as you can walk or jump on a bus. So if the room size and age is not an issue, then by all means stay here, as Vivienne will care for you as if you were family!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne P, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hi Ron I do hope you are feeling so much better having received and taken all your many herbs here, after feeling so awful during your time in Edinburgh and hope the rest of your European tour was fullfilled? Thank you so much for your lovely words about me and how I run my house. I thought you looked great every morning we spoke and every time I saw you during your time here even though you were so ill, and delighted all the other bathroom lights were in working order! Thank you now for bringing this to my attention> Vivienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Catch a taxi from station but then it's easy to get around town on buses. The hostess Vivienne has all the info you need in your guest guide in your room
Great breakfast but the recommendation for dinner at the Old Bell pub was the best great place to enjoy yourself

Room Tip: We loved both our rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AHoughton1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne P, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you Paula. It was a pleasure to meet you both during your recent visit to Edinburgh and hope you enjoyed your brief visit to Scotland. Vivienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is the 3rd time we have been at the beautiful Sherwood and we have re booked for later on this year .
Vivienne goes over and beyond being your host .
We stay there as my son is a competitive swimmer and it's only 2 mins from the pool .
The breakfast is fantastic and Vivienne cannot be more accommodating.
The house itself is spotless and most of all beautiful the attention to detail is superb .

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wilma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne P, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Wilma, you and your son are a delight to have stay here and it is my pleasure to see you return again later this year. Thank you so much for your lovely honest review. Until next time.... Vivienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews