We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allison House Hotel
Ranked #99 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Stayed for 3 nights to watch the European Rugby Finals. The house was easy to find and as we were early did not have any difficulty parking although space is limited. We were initially disappointed not to have en-suite which we had booked. However, we had our own private bathroom just a few steps away and this was excellent. The breakfast was a help yourself buffet and was very good with plenty to eat and well presented and cooked.The rooms and general areas were in lovely condition and the staff were most helpful and pleasant.We would not hesitate to go back there.

Room Tip: If you want en-suite do not book room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

You get what you pay for, and we were looking for something reasonably priced within walking distance of town. Found the owner very accommodating, and breakfast was very good. We had a small room with a private bathroom across the corridor, but we couldn't fault anything.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bc1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Owner very friendly and helpful, as were his staff. Room was great - big and airy, with the most comfortable bed you could wish for. Great breakfast.Good range of restaurants a mere 10 minute walk away, leading into the city centre itself. Buses regular as clockwork if you don't fancy the walk. While we were there, there was some minor refurbishment work going on, and the TV hardly caught a signal, but small trifles in the overall scheme of things. Will go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank condor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here at Alison house. We ended up arriving later than we thought due to flight delays, we phoned to let the staff know and after speaking to two different staff members they said a key would be left out for us.. we arrived close to midnight but no key to be found. We rang the bell and after a few minutes we were let in.

The room was small but tastefully furnished with a desk, comfy chair, a wardrobe to hang clothes and excellent black out curtains. The room and bathroom were very clean. The wifi was adequate for browsing but we were unable to stream Netflix.

The staff were very nice, especially once lady whose name I unfortunately can't remember. She was Scottish though and gave us local tips on what to see and eat (the abbey pub for a cheap brekkie).

It is an easy walk to town (20-30 mins)

I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay for £130/3 nights. The decor is nice, the old spiral stairwell cute and there's blackout curtains and the instant coffee is fair trade . The bed is comfortable if not a little small.
The cleaner Catherine was very knowledgeable and helpful and though the owner didn't leave out the key on our late arrival, he came quick to open the door for us.
The walls are a bit thin though and the television didn't work but otherwise we're happy.
A good place to stay without paying pricey central Edinburgh prices.
Recommended stay!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CanadianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Sixteen
#104 of 394 in Edinburgh
48 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#117 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
#118 of 394 in Edinburgh
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
International Guest House
#196 of 394 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
763 reviews
Dene Guest House
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: RM230 - RM1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allison House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small grand Georgian property situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing