We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$314
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$248
US$176
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$170
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$645
US$533
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
104
78
20
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
78
20
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefresh fruittop floorstraight roadsmall double roomcooked itemsblackout curtainsday ticketcomfortable bedarthur's seaton arrivalvery comfortable stayhouse keepingregular buseslast minute bookingprivate bathroomfull scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

You get what you pay for, and we were looking for something reasonably priced within walking distance of town. Found the owner very accommodating, and breakfast was very good. We had a small room with a private bathroom across the corridor, but we couldn't fault anything.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bc1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Owner very friendly and helpful, as were his staff. Room was great - big and airy, with the most comfortable bed you could wish for. Great breakfast.Good range of restaurants a mere 10 minute walk away, leading into the city centre itself. Buses regular as clockwork if you don't fancy the walk. While we were there, there was some minor refurbishment work going on, and the TV hardly caught a signal, but small trifles in the overall scheme of things. Will go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank condor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here at Alison house. We ended up arriving later than we thought due to flight delays, we phoned to let the staff know and after speaking to two different staff members they said a key would be left out for us.. we arrived close to midnight but no key to be found. We rang the bell and after a few minutes we were let in.

The room was small but tastefully furnished with a desk, comfy chair, a wardrobe to hang clothes and excellent black out curtains. The room and bathroom were very clean. The wifi was adequate for browsing but we were unable to stream Netflix.

The staff were very nice, especially once lady whose name I unfortunately can't remember. She was Scottish though and gave us local tips on what to see and eat (the abbey pub for a cheap brekkie).

It is an easy walk to town (20-30 mins)

I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay for £130/3 nights. The decor is nice, the old spiral stairwell cute and there's blackout curtains and the instant coffee is fair trade . The bed is comfortable if not a little small.
The cleaner Catherine was very knowledgeable and helpful and though the owner didn't leave out the key on our late arrival, he came quick to open the door for us.
The walls are a bit thin though and the television didn't work but otherwise we're happy.
A good place to stay without paying pricey central Edinburgh prices.
Recommended stay!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CanadianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

My other half and I have stayed here following a course we had in Edinburgh.

The hotel was easy to find and the staff were welcoming upon arrival. We have chosen a small double room as all we needed was a good nights sleep.

The room had most of the things one may need - the only thing I would say was lacking was a hairdryer. Everything was very clean and pleasant. You get what you pay for.

Unfortunately we didn't have breakfast here but found a nice cafe near by so can't comment not that.

All in all, definitely would recommend for a short, easy, cheap stay!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizaveta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews