We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top dining experience in the Edinburgh Grassmarket”
Review of Howies Victoria

Howies Victoria
Ranked #318 of 2,579 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Popular family owned and run restaurant established 1990. Scottish seasonal food cooked to order in a historic setting. Informal dining offering an extensive menu fish, seafood, meat, vegan, veggie, gluten free. All options. Set price lunch and dinner available too. Full licence. Open for lunch and dinner 5 days a week. Everyone from 1 month to 100 years old welcome. Howies Victoria sits in the heart of Edinburghs famous Victoria Street. Great atmosphere in the heart of medieval Edinburgh.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dined in Howie's on 11th Jan 2023, only found it by chance when walking past, extremely warm welcome and attentive staff, really nice vibe/decor in the restaurant itself, the food was excellent, I had the chargrilled chicken breast with mushrooms and baby roast potatoes, beautifully cooked tender chicken, but in particular the sauce was so rich and full of flavour, I lost around 50% of my sense of taste (Covid 1 yr ago) so I really tend to appreciate food I can actually taste! My wife had the Salmon fillet which she said was one of the best salmon dishes she's ever had (And we eat out a lot!) Be again next trip to Edinburgh for sure!

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alandH905IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HowiesRestaurants, General Manager at Howies Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review AlandH. It is a cracker and much appreciated by the whole team.
We wish you well and continued recovery with your sense of taste too, Covid has a lot to answer for.
We are delighted your wife loved her salmon too.
Come back and see us again soon!
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The service was excellent. It’s a trendy atmospheric comfortable and busy place the food menu is not hugely expansive but varied and interesting. The starters arrived promptly and were superbly presented and tasty. The mains took a little longer. The risotto, the venison, salmon and chicken mains were thoroughly enjoyed by each person. A great night really enjoyable experience

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HowiesRestaurants, General Manager at Howies Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear M M,
Thanks for your great review, we are very grateful for you taking the time to post it and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2022

Dinner for two Xmas Eve , everything was perfect . Delicious food , great service and super ambience .

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank floatinby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HowiesRestaurants, General Manager at Howies Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2022

Lovely review, thank you so much!
Happy New Year and we do hope to welcome you back to Howies very soon.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2022 via mobile

This was our first visit and we will return.

Staff were exceptional. All were friendly, well trained and efficient.

Food was delicious and I recommend the vegetarian haggis, neeps and tatties.

The restaurant was incredibly busy but we weren’t rushed.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank MerlinRalphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HowiesRestaurants, General Manager at Howies Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2022

Thanks for your great review Merlin. We very much appreciate you taking the time at this busy time of year to write and post it.
We hope to welcome you back to Howies again before too long.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2022

We were served by a young waitress, who was rather offhand from the start, and another waitress, who was friendly. We ordered from the festive menu, and the food was tasty. When the bill arrived, it was missing a number of items, which I drew to their attention. The revised bill contained a supplementary charge which had not been listed on the menu. Having told them about a large undercharge, I did not feel like being overcharged. But when I queried this, the young waitress kept arguing that it had to be paid, giving different reasons relating to a variety of menus which did not apply to us. When I insisted they actually look at the festive dinner menu where they could see it was not mentioned, they eventually grudgingly agreed to remove the charge. But even while taking payment the waitress kept repeating that while they were letting us off this time we should have paid the charge, and was in general extremely rude and unpleasant, not even bothering with a perfunctory thank you.

I spoke with the woman at the front desk about our dissatisfaction with the service, and while she apologised, she repeated a number of times that nobody had previously complained about the supplementary charge, as if implying that we were being unreasonable in asking about a charge which had not been on the menu they gave us. Moreover, the issue was not the small amount in question, but the rude and antagonistic they had handled the situation, becoming very unfriendly when we queried the charge, keeping on arguing that we should pay and not bothering to apologise when it turned out that it was due to their mistake. All this was particularly irritating when we had just drawn their attention to a much larger mistake they had made in undercharging us. I regret that I did not ask for the service charge (which is automatically added) to be removed.

This is not the type of service we are accustomed to in Edinburgh restaurants. We have eaten out at various Howie's restaurants over the years, but we won't be back.

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank BruceGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HowiesRestaurants, General Manager at Howies Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2022

Dear Bruce, Thanks for taking the time to write this, clearly this is not the type of service we pride ourselves on giving to our customers, after 33 years if this was the norm we would have been out of business a long time ago. We have put an investigation into place to find out exactly what happened as what you describe is completely unacceptable and I would like to apologise unreservedly for what was clearly a hugely disappointing and irritating situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howies Victoria also viewed

 

Been to Howies Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.