We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Ranked #68 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Great location. Nice clean room. Morag was lovely and very helpful. Found our room quite noisy and parking was very expensive. Good if you dont have a car. Apart from that it was an excellent stay especially leading up to christmas

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank minicraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

Great location, great service from two ladies who dealt with us. Slightly noisy re bottle bins being emptied from nearby bars. Rooms large and roomy, only slight issue as toilet cistern took ages to fill ( room 15). Hence only 4 stars and not the 5
Breakfast basic but great value for what we paid..
Would definitely return thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stefandjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We loved this place. Great location. Spacious clean room. Great selection for a continental breakfast and morag is a warm kind hearted person. A perfect host. Could not do enough for us. We booked for next year before we left lol.. thanks morag you are a star!! X

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is a welcoming homely place to say . We had a great visit to Edinburgh and our stay at the guest house made it feel like a perfect trip . Rooms was spacious beds comfy all bedding towels spotless lovely tea tray in room. Shared bathroom but didn't have any problems with this. Breakfast is continental nice choice hot tea and coffee friendly owners we would stay again . Very central not far to go any where really . Yep I'd recommend thanks for great stay .

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I chose this guest house with a few things in mind, I needed a safe place for one night and not in an extremely busy area but conveniently within distance of attractions and the bus station. This place did both.

I arrived at 11:45am after walking around the National portrait gallery, my room wasn't ready, understandable as check in is 12 but my host was happy to let me keep my backpack in the room and gave me my keys to my room and the house. I spent the whole day out and returned at 6 ish to finally check my room.

I got the single room shared bathroom not the small single room, just the regular single room. It was nice and spacious with a big bed, tv, towel, bathrobe and bar soap provided and an electrical kettle with mugs, tea and coffee. The room also had a wardrobe, bedside table,desk and chair, a chest of drawers. The shared bathroom was right next door, clean and chic with a hot shower.
The shower was a bit noisy which can be heard from my room, 18 but luckily for me no one took a shower at night.
Sleep was great, no outside noises heard from the street.

Woke up around 8:30 the next day just after other guests had used the bathroom. I wasn't running on a schedule so I had time to wait for the others to use it. It was nice that other guests kept the bathroom clean too.

Walked down for a continental spread breakfast. A mixture of cheese, cold cuts, sweet pastries, juices, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, toast and scrambled eggs. A lovely mixture of food and drinks for a nice pick-me-up breakfast.

There are plenty of information pamphlets of available at the ground floor for visitors. My room was at the fourth floor so it is a bit of a walk if you're not keen on that. I noticed on the second or third floor, a nice wooden bench with a few books. Great stay and will definitely try another room next time I return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank anabellej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#69 of 394 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#70 of 394 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#45 of 394 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#66 of 394 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#48 of 394 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Guest House

Address: 8 Hill Street, Edinburgh EH2 3JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: RM284 - RM552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is set in the heart of Edinburgh’s bustling city centre and is only a short walking distance away from the famous Princess Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Edinburgh Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing